Creativity Galore

I think I was in college when I last tried my hand at fabric painting, and gave up. The ‘masterpiece’ I wanted to paint then didn’t turn out to be one. I got a chance to try my hand at fabric painting once more at the interactive sessions held at our office. Our workplace had arranged some fun activities over the last 2 weeks, and one among them was a T-shirt painting session. I LOVED these sessions, fabric painting et al. :)

The creative sessions made me realise a lot of things. I realised that I love the process of creating. I love the feeling of creating something from scratch. I love filling up a blank canvas or paper or a T-shirt with multiple hues and make it something different from the one I started with. I love the process of learning – I love it when someone guides me and helps me add finishing touches, perfecting my raw finished product. I love a mix of work and play. I love the feeling of living life, doing something creative, bonding with people in the midst of a busy day.

I always knew that there’s more to people than meets the eye. These sessions reminded me of that. We were amazed to see the talent in people shining through tough exteriors and normally subdued characters. I realised, once again, that seeing passion and creativity writ large on the faces of people touches me, impresses me, inspires me.

I realised that there’s a lot to learn -if you want to and are interested enough. I learned that learning something new can work wonders for you. I realised that once in a while, you should throw a little challenge to that part of the brain which does not get enough work in a monotonous lifestyle.

Enough said. Before I bore you people to death, take a look at some of the T-shirts that our team painted. :)

**Drumrolls**

This is the one I painted, doing full justice to my fascination of sea horses. :) Yeah, I know it’s not a masterpiece again, but I liked it. :)

This one is an angel-cum-devil by a colleague. 

The inimitable Calvin & Hobbes by another colleague.

The lady who painted this felt she ruined it, but I think otherwise. I loved the colours and the Indian feel of it. :)

The Mysore Palace came alive on another colleague’s T-shirt. I loved this one – it looks so professional.

I loved the creativity in this one – it was done with just one pot of paint and a few brush strokes. No pencil, no marker.

You like?

************************

Image courtesy: All pics are by a colleague.

6 Comments

Filed under Motivation, Musings, Work

6 responses to “Creativity Galore

  1. Wow, all the paintings look so lovely. I especially love the ethnic print that your colleague thinks she “ruined”. The sea horse is pretty darn cute too :)

  2. I love these, Priya! I also enjoy the creative or artistic process, getting into a different “zone” and being open to possibilities. :)

  3. Wow! Can we buy any of these? I like all of them. I especially like the cute seahorse, Mysore Palace, headphones, and of course, Calvin and Hobbes. I wish my company something like this :(

    • priya

      @Tanu

      Thanks, Tanu! All of these are for personal use only :( Though I don’t mind taking it up as a side business ;)

Leave a Reply

