A little candle in the wind

Little candle in the wind,

Your light is nothing

Compared to the sun,

High aims you have

But you don’t stand a chance,

Never can you illuminate the world,

It is too huge;

You will melt,

You will cry,

You will die,

A puff of wind

Will snuff you out,

Don’t try,

Don’t go beyond your means,

Only in that way you can live…

 

 

  

Yes, I’m a little candle in the wind,

Nothing before the sun,

But I believe in my worth

I believe in my dreams,

I don’t want to live

Without striving for my goal,

I can’t agree

To not to try at all,

Yes, I will melt,

I will cry,

But I don’t want to die

Without giving it a try,

I will try to spread light

In the world,

But even if I can’t,

I will know I have illuminated

Some small corners,

That gives me happiness

And satisfaction beyond compare,

That takes away the pain

Of melting, of slowly dying,

A puff of wind

Might make me go out,

I might flicker

Every now and then,

But till I go out completely,

I will stand upright

Spreading as much light

As I can,

My goal I might achieve not,

But I would know

I have done my part…

 One of my favourite quotes: 

“I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything I will not refuse to do the something I can do.” 

2 Comments

Filed under Motivation, My poems

2 responses to “A little candle in the wind

  1. Dhindu

    Nice one..second half gives words for my thoughts.Thanks.

  2. priyaiyer

    @dhindu

    danke! 🙂

Leave a Reply

