Why must I read?

I was going through some old notebooks of mine, when I found this beautiful poem. Long, long ago, I had found it somewhere and copied it down. After all these years, it still gave me a lot of pleasure reading it and I could relate to each and every word of it. So, I decided to post it on my blog.

Father to daughter : Read? You? What do you want to read for? It’s enough if my sons read. Why on earth must you, a girl?

Daughter to father: Well, since you ask, listen.

Because I am a girl,

I must read,

Because I am not allowed to,

I must read,

I feel,

So I must read,

My dreams stretch out to me,

So I must read,

Because I am a girl,

I must read.

I must not lose my way wandering,

I must stand on my feet,

I must fight my fears,

Because I am a girl,

I must read.

I must oppose exploitation,

Change laws, make new religions,

Turn everything around,

Because I am a girl,

I must read.

I must learn from the wise,

Sing the songs of Mira,

Write my own melodies,

This is not the age of the illiterate,

The unlettered,

Because I am a girl,

I must read.

6 Comments

Filed under Motivation, Sourced

6 responses to “Why must I read?

  1. written by?? urs truly??

  2. priyaiyer

    @sharan,

    nope! i found it somewhere, dont even remember where. i had copied it down in my notebook years ago….found it yesterday…and i found i still loved it! πŸ™‚

  3. Sharan , doesn’t this remind u of ‘Women’s issues’ πŸ˜‰ ??

  4. priyaiyer

    @niths,

    yenna pa samajaram?????? πŸ™‚

  5. very apt, considering we’re celebrating 60 yrs of being an ind nation and girls still have to forego schooling and start earning.. 😦 education is the first step towards true emancipation.

  6. priyaiyer

    very true! 😦 the plight of the female child in india still leaves a lot to be desired, even though we are ‘independent’! don’t even get me started on women’s issues…:-(

Leave a Reply

