Missing you…

Dear brother,

I have missed you all my life and on this special occasion of Rakshabandhan, I am missing you even more. I always thought (and still think) that those who have a sibling are blessed, though they might not admit it. In that sense, I have not been a blessed one. I never had you in my life. I don’t know why, but I have always wanted only a brother.

Being an only child brought in its wake a lot of loneliness and being an only daughter, it brought a lot of responsibility. Not that I am complaining. I am trying to fill in your role for our parents as best as I can, but I miss having your hand to hold for support when life is tough. I miss the stupid games we could have played. I miss the good-hearted teasing. I miss the cheerful banter between us. I miss the fights we could have had, and the making up after that. I miss breaking glass panes and flower pots with you. I miss ringing doorbells and running away with you. I miss scaring people with you. I miss those heart-to-heart talks that only both of us could have shared. I miss that special affection, and I miss showering my love on you. I miss that feeling of always having someone behind you in whatever you do. I miss all those times when we could have made our parents mad. I miss you on each and every family occasion we could have enjoyed together.

I don’t know why this sudden emotional outburst today, but I am missing you and will probably continue missing you throughout. Maybe life would have been different, had you been around. Maybe it would have been a lot more fun, a lot more simple, a lot more happy.

Maybe I am being unrealistic or childish, but I can’t help missing you. There is a vacant spot in my life that no one else can quite fill. And I guess there always will be one.

Love,

Your sis. 

9 Comments

Filed under Life, Musings, Occasions

9 responses to “Missing you…

  1. Nithya Sivashankar

    No comments. Mind’s blank 😐

  2. Oh! That’s so touching. Hmm… yes, it really helps if you have a sibling. I have a brother, no sister.
    Sathej

  3. Hmm.. that’s deep. I never thought of being without siblings — I have a younger bro and younger sis. I’ve been there for them and they have been there for me.

    But, hey, I know, its tough, but there are friends to fill up the gap. Most of the times they do, but sometimes, you need someone from your own blood.. I agree!

    Nice one Priya. I’m numb!

    P.S. This would be the right time for that beer can (Bud Light) to fall on me… 🙂

  4. sarathz

    another gem 🙂 well done

    i can sense that emptiness very well ‘coz i had a younger sister till 6 years back. I am so unlucky that she had to leave me getting caught in the hands of some unpronouncable disease 😦

    Though i still have a bro’ , still miss a sis charm…

    I wish all the bro’s a happy raksha bandhan, who are lucky enough to have a sis love…hold on to it guys… 🙂

  5. priyaiyer

    @niths, sathej, gopinath and sarathz,

    thanks for understanding! 🙂

    gopinath, Bud Light…….hmmmmmmm……. 🙂

    sarathz, m really sorry about that…. 😦

  6. hmm….that rakhi makes me officially your brother…but yea it s never the same..i agree…

  7. priyaiyer

    @sharan

    didnt mean that… 😦

  8. priyaiyer

    @sharan

    bcos i didnt mean it that way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

