Rahi aur raasta

Ek musafir hoon main

Manzil ki talash mein, 

Raah chalte chalte ye ehsaas hua

Us mod par mud gaye hote to accha tha,

Us mukam par ruke na hote to accha tha,

Par wapas jaana munasib nahi,

So aage chalte gaye,

Naye raaste khojte rahe,

Naye mukaam par rukte rahe,

Manzil ki talash to ab bhi hai

Magar ab raaste ke aur jankaar hue….

___Yours truly

A futile attempt at translation of the above poem:

A traveller am I

In search of my destination,

I had traversed some when I felt,

Maybe I should have turned there,

Maybe I shouldn’t have stopped there,

But go back I cannot,

So I go ahead,

I find new paths to walk on,

Resting at new spots,

Still searching for the destination am I,

But now more knowledgeable of the paths am I….

_____________________________________________________________

These beautiful lines by Robert Frost come to mind, which I always find inspiring to no end: 

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

12 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation, Musings, My poems

12 responses to “Rahi aur raasta

  1. Again, the Hindi version is so nice. Talking of Frost, these lines too speak a lot ‘Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, And that has made all the diference’.

    Btw, nice reading good Hindi poetry after a long time. I like Harivanshrai’s poems a lot.

    Sathej

  2. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thnks! 🙂 dunno why suddenly hindi poetry is coming to mind a lot these days! i have not even been reading it! 🙂

    i love these lines by frost too… they are so meaningful! 🙂

  3. Very nice! Your writings are always amazing. Keep going…

    Bless U!

  4. priyaiyer

    @nidhi

    thanQ! 🙂

  5. What a picture to suit the theme. Fits Frost’s lines perfectly.
    Sathej

  6. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thanks! i loved the pic too! 🙂

  7. the one in hindi seemed to be more catchy..
    dont know why may be because i read it first..
    this is the first time i have visited this blog…
    hope to come back again
    “khojthe rahiye naya rastha..
    milte rahenge naye mussafir”
    😛

  8. priyaiyer

    @arvind

    welcome here! keep visiting! 🙂

    thanks a lot! 🙂

    i know, the hindi version is better! 🙂 it always happens, have been told that before…

  9. I simply love Frost’s works 🙂 Unison with nature 🙂 Your poem reminds me of the song
    Musafir Hoon Yaaron , Na Gar Hai Naa tikhana 🙂

  10. priyaiyer

    @nithya

    me too, me too! 🙂 thanks!

    comma where?

  11. Nithya Sivashankar

    Musafir Hoon Yaaron , Na Gar Hai Naa tikhana

    Up there 😛

Leave a Reply

