Unconditional love-2

Love is what I feel

When I stumble,

And you instantly reach out

To catch me,

Even though you know

I can balance myself,

That I would not fall;

 

Love is what I feel

When you don’t shrug off,

When I doze off

On your shoulder,

Sitting and watching T.V. with you,

And you don’t say ‘ouch’

When your arm goes numb;

 

Love is what I feel

When you mark out

Those boring lines

In the financial newspaper

With a marker,

Because you want me

To be aware;

 

Love is what I feel

When you discuss

A girlie show with me,

Yet again, one more time,

Though you are ready

For a good night’s sleep

After a hectic day;

 

Love is what I feel

When you like talking to me

Just because I am me,

When you talk without pretention,

Baring your soul to me;

When I am safe in believing

That your dreams and mine

Are ‘our’ dreams;

 

Love is what I feel

When you don’t laugh

At what I don’t know,

When you respect me

Because I still do what I need to do

Even though I don’t know,

When you turn on

Defensive-protective mode

When something is said to me

That shouldn’t be;

 

Love is what I feel

When you see

Somewhere, unexpectedly,

That book I wanted,

But never found anywhere,

And you remember

And buy it for me;

 

Love is what I feel

When you call up

My mother  

Without my knowledge,

Just to say ‘Hi’,

And when dad comes on the line,

You say

‘Hey dad, how are you?’

When you know my friends

And my role models by name;

 

 

 

Love is what I feel

When you recognize

Each and every emotion of mine,

When you keep mum

Because you know I will cry,

When you are red

With anger;

 

Love is what I feel

When I puke my stomach out

When I look like what

Even the cat won’t drag in,

And you say

‘I love you,

‘cos you are the most beautiful

Girl in the world.’

And say it from your heart;

 

Love is what I feel

When you call up

In the middle of a crazy work day

To say ‘hi sweetie’,

When you want to

Take me out for a moonlight walk,

Because you know

I’ve been at home all day,

When all you want to do is

Sink your face into a pillow

And cry;

 

Love is what I feel

When you respond

With a ‘love you’

Hastily SMSed in the middle of a meeting,

When I childishly message you

The first two lines

Of the latest love song;

 

Love is what I feel

When you call up

From work

To ask if I took

Something for the terrible cold

That I have,

Because you know

I forget;

 

Love is what I feel

When you shush me

When I cry in the middle of the night,

When I’ve had

A nightmare,

When you put your arms

Around me,

And put me

Back to sleep;

 

Love is what I feel

When you know

I am choked up,

I am numb,

When I need my space,

And you just leave me alone,

Unquestioned;

 

Love is what I feel

When you drop me at work

And pick me up,

Though it is out of your way,

So that I do not

Bump around

In city buses and autos;

 

Love is what I feel

When you order a paper masala dosa

So that you can share it with me,

Because you know

I can’t eat a full one,

But love it all the same,

And it is not the kind of thing

You exactly like to have;

 

Love is what I feel

When you tell me

Flat on my face,

When I need to change

Something about myself,

For my very own good,

And then you tell me,

‘I’m sorry’;

 

Love is what I feel

When you make do

With sandwiches,

Because I haven’t cooked,

Because I had to

Catch a deadline;

 

Love is what I feel

When you scream at me

For shifting that furniture,

Because you know

It wouldn’t do much good

For my back;

 

Love is what I feel

When your heart melts

Every time you see me cry,

And it shows on your face,

Though my troubles

You can choose

To ignore;

 

Love is what I feel

When you call me up

To say you’ve closed that

All-important deal,

First hand,

Because you know I care;

 

Love is what I feel

When you keep mum,

Though irked by my habit

Of keeping my room

Thoroughly unorganised,

Cluttered,

Because you know that’s just

The way I am,

You don’t judge,

And don’t hold it

Against me;

 

Love is what I feel

In all the little things you do

For me,

Unselfishly,

And each time

I fall in love with you

All over again.

 PS: Sorry if that was a tad too long. Just wanted to write about what is ‘unconditional love’ in my eyes, and a lot of things came to mind. 🙂

33 Comments

Filed under Life, Love, Musings, My poems

33 responses to “Unconditional love-2

  1. Bravo bravo…reaching for a tissue…

  2. 🙂 Hope your would be hubby is well prepared for this demanding role!! 🙂 This one is very sweet!

  3. Brinda

    Too good! Felt nice after reading.

  4. priyaiyer

    @sharan

    thanks! 🙂

    @hari

    thanks! 🙂 i hope so too! 🙂

    @brinda

    thank you so much! 🙂

  5. Absalootly Bril, i say 🙂 Loved it Iyer 🙂 Long time since i actually read good mush-poetry 🙂

  6. priyaiyer

    @niths

    thank u madam! 🙂

  7. Simply beautiful! Only a poetry on love can be so rythmic without any rhymes. I can see your mind wanders a lot and how u capture your imaginations the moment they pop out. 🙂

  8. priyaiyer

    @krishna

    thanks! 🙂 ya, love makes everything beautiful, innit? and yes, my mind does wander a lot and i like putting down descriptions of all the places it wanders to on paper! 🙂

  9. Monisha

    Lovely poem Priya.
    Each and every word is so meaningful. I could visualize every instance you have written and relate to it as if it was happening now. Loved it! Would you mind if i can forward it to the person i love unconditionally….ofcourse with due credit given to u!!!!

    Keep up the good work!

  10. priyaiyer

    @monisha

    thanks! 🙂 yep, you can forward it to him. i have absolutely no problem with that! 🙂

  11. Anand.S

    Very good, but very very hard to follow as a husband…. but we do try!

  12. priyaiyer

    @anand

    thanks! i understand that… giving unconditional love as a wife is not easy either! 🙂 this is just how i want it to be.

  13. wow! It is really very beautiful work. Keep it up! Bless you always!

  14. priyaiyer

    @nidhi

    thanku ma’am! 🙂

  15. Oh wonderful imagination 🙂 Really nice, each one of them is so touching…
    Sathej

  16. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thank you so much! 🙂

  17. priyaiyer

    @vishakha

    welcome here again! thanks! 🙂

  18. Vikki

    One of my Favorites:

    Touched by all that love is
    I draw closer toward you
    Saddened by all that love is
    I run from you

    Surprised by all that love is
    I remain alert in stillness
    Hurt by all that love is
    I yearn for tenderness

    Defeated by all that love is
    at the truthful mouth of the night
    Forsaken by all that love is
    I will grow toward you.

    By: Frantisek Halas

  19. priyaiyer

    @vikki

    beautiful lines….

  20. Rekha

    Very good piece of writing. Made my day!!! 🙂

  21. priyaiyer

    @rekha

    hey! welcome here! thanks a lot! 🙂

  22. Rekha

    After reading “Unconditional Love”, I wasn’t really looking forward to a reply from her but was still curious to find out what you had to tell us in “Unconditional love-2”. Believe me, I was pleasantly surprised at the difference between the two posts. I liked the surprise. Also liked the fact that the emotions were not carried from 1 to 2. And your writing surprises me every time {that’s a compliment 🙂 }

    Keep writing!!! Keep making my day. 🙂

  23. priyaiyer

    @rekha

    hey, unconditional love-2 was not a reply to the guy’s letter in part 1. in the second part, i just penned down what i felt unconditional love should be like. maybe it is an illusion, maybe it is the truth.

    and thanks for the kind words. they made my day too! 🙂 keep visiting!

  24. swat

    Hey, had read this a long time ago. But then, got reminded of it now and found it after digging the archives. A very mushy lady that I am, I LOVED this one 🙂 Esp, the nightmare and paper masala dosa lines. Aaawwww 🙂

  25. priyaiyer

    @swat

    ah, i am flattered. 😀 didn’t know u used to read UP that long back.

    “A very mushy lady that I am, I LOVED this one” – me too! 😀 join the club…

  26. //Love is what I feel
    When I puke my stomach out
    When I look like what
    Even the cat won’t drag in,
    And you say
    ‘I love you,
    ‘cos you are the most beautiful
    Girl in the world.’
    And say it from your heart; //

    Cho sweet… Love these lines..

    Love is what I feel
    When you know
    I am choked up,
    I am numb,
    When I need my space,
    And you just leave me alone,
    Unquestioned;

    Exactly what I’d expect 🙂

    Love is what I feel
    When you keep mum,
    Though irked by my habit
    Of keeping my room
    Thoroughly unorganised,
    Cluttered,
    Because you know that’s just
    The way I am,
    You don’t judge,
    And don’t hold it
    Against me;

    Mister where art thou 😉

    Love is what I feel
    In all the little things you do
    For me,
    Unselfishly,
    And each time
    I fall in love with you
    All over again.

    Awwww…. Mush at its best..

    Somehow missed this before.. Am glad I caught it up now…
    Wondering how a print out of it would look on my wall.. You wouldn’t mind.. would you.. 😛

    Sorry abt the long comment.. Couldn’t help it..

  27. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    i m flattered all over again now.. 😀 glad u liked it. go ahead, get a printout and put it up on ur wall. think of me when u read it. may it inspire u to write more mush.

    and ya, welcome to the mush-lovers club! 😀

  28. Its one of your all time best posts 🙂 Really touching and emotive.
    Sathej

  29. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    oh! naan ezhudara scribbles-la all-time best and favourites vera! i m the really flattered! 😀

  30. swat

    Guess i delurked really late. :lol:. Sorry.
    Really? Et tu mushy?
    People actually don’t admit that you know? But yay! i got super company 😉

  31. priyaiyer

    @swat

    LOL 🙂 yep, you do have loadsa company. moi included. 🙂

  32. Priti Ahuja

    Very touching!

    thanks, priti! welcome here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

