This and that

Time again for a nice rant of the random kind on my blog! I don’t have any plans about what to write, but I just know that there are quite a few things on my mind. I need to put them down, so that I can proceed further. In Robin Sharma’s words, I need to empty my cup before I can try to fill it up again. 🙂 And where else but my dear blog?

Well, I have been feeling kinda lousy since the last week. Not all the time, but most of the time. The throat infection and mild fever that I had added to the lousy feeling. 😦 That did not stop me from going about my routine life.  In fact, there has been extra activity! A bit of introspection helped me find out that I have been trying to do too much in too little time since I came back from Bangalore, and it has taken a toll on me. Most of the things I did in these days has required final touching, re-touching, re-re-touching and so on. There have been 1000000001 things to do, a lot of running around. Some tension, some problems, some pressure, all this led to a very frustrated me!  😦  

‘Bhagambhag’ is the best way to sum up my life in the last couple of weeks in one word.  This song says it perfectly, just the way it was.  I realised that I need to take things a bit easy for a while, which is exactly what I have started doing.  🙂

No, everything was not dull and dreary during this period. There were some beautiful moments too in the midst of chaos galore. 🙂 I mean there were some bright spots, which kept me sane during this period! 🙂

Writing, reading and blogging, as always, served as therapy.

Apart from that, our team celebrated the birthdays of my boss and that of two of my colleagues, one of them being a close friend. We also celebrated the engagement of another colleague. It was fun being part of the early-morning-surprise-cabin-and-desk- decoration team and of the gift- buying team. 🙂 And exhausting too! 😦 It was fun trying to think of surprise gifts for them. It gives a sense of fulfillment and satisfaction on seeing the happiness on someone’s faces on seeing something that they least expected, innit?

Came across this while googling up gifts for the boss. ROTFL stuff. How I wish I could take my decisions that way!!

Went to one of the newly opened Jumbo King outlets with some friends and had a lip-smacking Vada Pav, at the same time being hygienic. From the look of it, we foresee quite a few visits here in the times to come! I would definitely prefer paying a visit here over McD any day. 🙂

Started reading Haruki Murakami’s ‘South of the border, west of the sun’. Still in the very initial stages, but so far, so good. Concentrating only on one book now. 🙂

Dropped in to meet a favourite professor after years, just because I passed by college. It turned out to be a nostalgic and wonderful meeting, with him remembering exactly what year I had passed out and what course I had taken. Sure felt nice to look around the college after all these years. 🙂

Met up with a school friend after ages and really caught up on the old times. Added to the nostalgic feel. 🙂

Saw a few ads for the ‘Jaago India’ campaign on T.V. At last, someone is asking questions! 🙂 Loved the series.

Saw the ad for the Tamil matrimony ‘Virtual Swayamvar for Iyers’. A sign of the times we live in! 🙂

Visited the Camp Hanuman temple for the first time, which is a tourist spot here, but which I had the good fortune to visit only now, in spite of staying in the city for all my life. Pathetic, isn’t it? I know! 🙂 But better late than never. Anyways, it was a deeply sating experience. As this article says, it truly symbolises ‘Devotion in the midst of discipline’.

That’s it for now. I’m feeling very good after all that rambling! 🙂

Ciao! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Everyday polambals, Friendship, Life, Music, Places, Work

4 responses to “This and that

  1. Krishna

    So u r back…i thot u hd gone swoosh…
    So many smileys in ur post. Aisa lag raha hai kisi ne AK47 chala di ho. Jagah jagah smileys ke nishaan pad gaye hain. 😛
    Go slow in your life..but u r not allowed to go slow in bloggin’.

    We all fellow readers love it. Keep rambling..oops..i mean blogging. :))

    And yes, do check in my chotu sa blog..it’s http://www.godshandwriting.blogspot.com.

  2. priyaiyer

    @krishna

    er, when did i go swoosh? i was always rambling here! 🙂

    thanks! yep, i CANNOT do without blogging. it is one of the reasons why i am sane! 🙂

    sure will check out your blog! 🙂

  3. Oh, hope health is better now. Visiting a fav Professor-that’s nice 🙂 Those ads – have to see them. Jaago India-have seen only one. Pressure, frustration, tension – hope you find some relief soon:)
    Btw, back to your blog…very nice picture for the header. Set it as my desktop:)
    Sathej

  4. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    welcome bak! 🙂 glad you liked the header.

    yep, health is much better now. thanks.

    visiting our professor and meeting my school friend after ages was fun.

    do check out the ads. have seen 2-3 of them. good concept.

    as for the pressure, frustration and tension, looks like it is gonna be like this for some more time. no other option but to put up with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

