There’s more to me

When you meet me

What do you see?

A sweet, shy and smiling girl,

Or a determined girl with attitude?

Do you see the color of my eyes?

The color of my hair?

My features?

The color of my skin?

My built, my height? 

The dress that I am wearing,

The jewellery that I am carrying,

Does it catch your eye?

When you hear my voice,

Can you hear the inflections in it?

Can you see my moods

Reflected in my smiles?

Can you make out

If I am wearing a mask?

Can you see the little girl within me

Who yearns to play and jump?

Can you see the achiever in me

Who dreams to make it big?

Can you see the moments

That transformed my life?

Can you see the memories

In my mind?

Can you see my dreams?

My nightmares? 

Can you see my passions?

Can you see what makes me dance?

What makes me livid with anger?

Can you make out

What I deeply care for?

Can you see

The core of my being, my heart?

Can you see

What went behind

The making of me?

There’s more to me

Than meets the eye,

There’s more to me

Than I let on,

Parts of me

Unbeknownst earlier,

That sprouted and grew with time,

Making up the real me,

Parts of me still lying unexplored,

Waiting to grow, expand,

Parts of me

Waiting to be shaped

By the master hands

Of life and time,

There’s more to me

Than meets the eye,

There’s more to me

Than I let on,

There’s more to me

Than you

Or I

Can ever possibly know….

12 Comments

Filed under Life, Musings, My poems

12 responses to “There’s more to me

  1. I can answer this only if I see you! Or is that you in the photograph?!

    Anyways you have put down your thoughts nicely. Kudos!

  2. i feel u somehow stole my words (though meant for different gender! 😉 ).. nice try! drop dead beautiful lady in the picture!

  3. Well, I haven’t seen you but I know a part of you, your blogs which I guess is the image of your thoughts.
    Good choice of words.

  4. priyaiyer

    @hari

    i was not talking about me specifically in the poem. it was about appearances in general. what i wanted to convey was that we often judge people by their appearances. we rarely take the time to know them completely. there’s so much behind a face.

    thoughts about our arranged marriage system prompted this poem. 🙂

    thats soha ali khan in the pic! 🙂 and, thanks!

    @rahul

    oh really? you also thinking on the same lines? that ‘drop dead beautiful lady’ is soha ali khan. if you wanna see more of her, you can try seeing ‘khoya khoya chand’. will wait for the review on your blog! 🙂

    @sushil

    thanks! yep, my blog is very much a reflection of myself. 🙂

  5. Very nice one…appearances have their own limitations, true. But can we really get to know a person? Firstly, can we get to know ourselves completely? The last lines surmise the issue very well.
    Sathej

  6. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thanks! yep, i agree. it is rather difficult to understand another person completely. but spending a fair amount of time gives you a rough idea, of course. much better than judging just on the basis of appearances.

    understanding ourselves completely, well, takes a lot of introspection and time. 🙂

  7. Saumya

    Bang on target! Stumbled on your blog through some other blogs. Love this piece.

  8. priyaiyer

    @saumya

    hey! welcome here! glad u liked it! 🙂

  9. nice thoughts …


    There’s more to me

    Than you

    Or I

    Can ever possibly know….

    liked these a lot.. btw isn’t that wonderful part about knowing people, there is always more to know.

    I have to admit though, the initial lines, to find someone who can see things that way, is very difficult, lucky few meet them, luckier few get to know them

  10. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    thanks! 🙂 yep, there is a lot about a person which is beneath the surface. perhaps, these things are the most important things, which actually matter. and yes, finding a person who looks beneath the surface is rather difficult! 🙂 very rightly said!

  11. Pooja

    hey well drafted….
    wonderful there is no word to describe the beauty of ur writing…
    keep it up.

  12. priyaiyer

    @pooja

    thank you so much! i am flattered! 😀

    ~takes a bow~

Leave a Reply

