A lot can happen over lunch

Two girls talking during the lunch break in office:

 

X: Hey, I was watching T.V. yesterday night and I saw Adnan Sami’s show.

 

Y: Hey, I saw that too. How cute Adnan looks in that? Doesn’t he?

 

X: Yeah, he has reduced so much. I could barely recognize him!

 

Y: I heard he has reduced more than 100 kgs.

 

X: Really?

 

Y: Yeah, didn’t you know? It was in the papers!

 

X: No, I didn’t yaar. I missed it.

 

Y: He weighed around 200 kgs before. Now he has come down to less than 100 kgs.

 

X: Wow, man! Isn’t that great?

 

Y: Really yaar!

 

X: I wish I knew how he did that! 100 kgs!  (Raises her eyebrows in a look of amazement)

 

Y: Must have required a lot of willpower.

 

X: And here I am, struggling to lose even 2 kgs!

 

Both giggle, then eat their lunch in silence.

 

After some time,

 

Y: You know there’s VLCC just behind our office?

 

X: VLCC? As in the fitness centre?

 

Y: Yeah, that’s the one.

 

X: Yes, I know. What about it?

 

Y: Why don’t you join there? One of my friends did and lost around 10 kgs.

 

X: You know, you have to do a lot of exercises and dieting and all that.

 

Y: Yeah, but you have to do it if you want to lose weight, na?.

 

X: I don’t have the patience or the willpower of that sort yaar!

 

Y: Just get started yaar! Everything will work out on its own!

 

X: And what if I gain back all that I have lost? Is there any guarantee for that?

 

Y: No one can give you such a guarantee. It is up to you to lose it and keep it off.

 

X: (In an indignant tone) So you are saying that I should spend 10000 bucks to go on a starvation diet, keep counting calories and exercise all the time and make myself miserable?

 

Y: Hey, why are you looking at it that way?

 

X: What is the other way to look at it?

 

Y: Think that you are spending money because you want to look good. And once you make exercising a routine, you won’t feel that way about it.

 

X: So you want me to join VLCC at any cost? (glares at Y) What pleasure does it give you?

 

Y: I didn’t mean it that way. I just said it for your own good.

 

X: You implied that I am fat and that I don’t look good.

 

Y: Didn’t you say that you would like to lose weight?

 

X: Yeah, but I don’t think I am THAT fat!

 

Y: But, ……..    

 

She is interrupted by X.

 

X: I expected you to say, “You look good just the way you are. You don’t need to reduce.” Instead you give me all this gibberish.

 

Y: O.K. Don’t join it if you don’t want to.

 

X: That is not the point. The point is that you think I look fat and ugly. Why don’t you have a good, hard look at yourself first?

 

Y: Myself? What do you mean?

 

X: Why? You have put on weight in the last few months. Instead of wasting your time in giving unsolicited advice, why don’t you join VLCC yourself?

 

Y: How dare you say that? I thought you were a good friend of mine.

 

X: Same here. But you proved to be just as bitchy as the others.

 

Y: Mind your language!

 

X: I don’t want to talk to you ever again!

 

Y: Neither am I interested.

 

X: Hmmph!

 

Y: Hmmmmmpppph!

 

And both stomp off angrily to their respective desks.

8 Comments

Filed under Kaamedi Kimedi, My stories

8 responses to “A lot can happen over lunch

  1. Is it really this bad always? 🙂
    Sathej

  2. So who was the other girl?

  3. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    he he! no our office is not always bad. we have some great moments too! 🙂 btw, this one is a figment of my imagination.

    @hari

    still confused? :)) i don’t know who the other girl was! 😀

  4. Loosing weight… hmm worth a fight?

  5. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    no, it should not be! that is the whole point of this post! also, how a conversation deviates from the topic it started from! 🙂

  6. Oh ok…nice imagination 🙂
    Sathej

  7. vEENs

    heheh hehe 😀
    girls can re-model the whole scenario as they wish 😀

    i couldn’t help but think if Y was a guy!! 😀 😀

  8. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    he he! danks! 🙂

    @veens

    yep, they can!

    y as a guy… interesting angle. will try to think about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

