Disappointments and gratifications – my take

I have been experimenting a lot with movies lately. I always liked watching movies, but was never a ‘first-day-first-show’ person. I used to see one movie in a couple of months. I have missed out on a lot of good books and movies actually.

Nowadays, my latent interest in movies has somehow woken up. 🙂 I am in the mood for watching all kinds of movies – old, new, Hindi and Tamil – and experimenting with different kinds of books, and then writing about my experiences. So some of the stuff I write about might be rather outdated for you! 🙂

This post is about the major disappointments and gratifications on my part of late, with reference to books and movies.

Haruki Murakami’s ‘South of the border, west of the sun’ – A major disappointment. 😦 I picked up this book with great expectations, after reading loads of reviews about the book. True, the author has a wonderful imagination and great narrating power, but somehow, I couldn’t relate to the book. 😦 Not my type!

Mozhi – A stunning movie! I am glad I saw it. A lot of people didn’t like this movie, as it is rather slow, but I fell in love with it. Apart from a rather cute hero, it has got a lovely story line and some fabulous music. 🙂 Beautiful treatment given to a rather sensitive issue. Just the right mix of comedy and emotions. Very much my type! 🙂

These are the songs I liked the most in the film:

Harry Potter-1 – Yes, I know the whole world has read HP, seen it, talked and blogged about it, but her royal highness just finished reading the 1st part of this epic in fantasy. 🙂 And she loved it. Would trade anything for the Sorting Hat, a flying broomstick and the Mirror of Erised. 🙂 Looking forward to read the other parts and seeing the HP movies too! Yes, my type again! 🙂

Unnale Unnale – 😦 Don’t even know why I saw the whole movie. Utter disappointment! Not my type!

Dus Kahaniyan – Liked the movie. 10 beautifully crafted and carefully selected stories. Every story has a twist of its own. It is very difficult to choose one story as a favourite. Some stories have a bit of a negative shade, but each story was able to hold my attention. True, there is no connecting link between the 10 stories, absolutely nothing in common, but I liked it just the same. 🙂 My kind! 🙂 It was not liked by a number of people, though.

Baaton baaton mein – Saw the age-old Amol Palekar movie now. Yep, I was always Late Kate! 🙂 Again, an offbeat kind of movie. Tina Munim looks asbalootly cute. A nice mix of sensitivity and comedy, with some great music. My type! Me likey! 🙂

Loved this song from the movie:

A friend recently remarked that I seem to have a fetish for art movies. Maybe she is right. I like books, people and movies that are a bit off the beaten track! 🙂 Not that I don’t enjoy entertainers, but offbeat movies/books/people kind of catch my fancy.

Currently reading ‘Memoirs of a geisha’. Not enough into the book to decide into which category this one should be grouped! 🙂

My next hit list includes:

Books (yet to get hold of)

Speed Post – Shobhaa De

The Dance – Oriah Mountain Dreamer

The Pilgrimage – Paulo Coelho

Message in a bottle – Nicholas Sparks

How I taught my grandmother to read – Sudha Murty

Blind Willow, sleeping woman – Haruki Murakami

Apart from these, there are a number of books gathering dust at home, which I need to pick up.

Movies

Frankly speaking, undecided yet. I’ve built up a collection of DVDs lately, including Tamil and Hindi movies. Would like to relish these movies one by one. 🙂

Suggestions are welcome. 🙂

Blah, blah, blah, blah and blah! 🙂

13 Comments

Filed under Everyday polambals, Love, Movies, Music, Reading Ramana

13 responses to “Disappointments and gratifications – my take

  1. Bataon Bataon mein was a nice movie.. have you seen chasme baddur? looking at your movie choice you may like it.

    BTW off beat movies and books.. great.. not many people around that way.

  2. Book suggestions..
    The One – Richard Bach
    “Eleven Minutes” – Paulo coelho
    “Who will cry when you die” – Robin Sharma
    “Perks of Being a wall flower” – Stephen Chbosky..

    most of them you can find a review on my blog 🙂

    Movies..
    Try Before Sunset.. or “Lost in translation”.

  3. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    thanks a lot for taking the time to make suggestions. appreciated it. 🙂

    nope, i havent seen chashme baddur, but i looked it up in wiki and it sounds good. will try to get the cd. 🙂

    as for the books, i love paulo coelho and robin sharma. i read the theme of coelho’s ‘eleven minutes’ and i thought maybe i wouldn’t like it. so havent picked up the book as of yet. i have already read ‘who will cry when you die’ by robin sharma and loved the book. i have written a review of sorts on my blog as well. 🙂 well, the other two sound interesting. the movies sound great as well. will check them out. 🙂 (provided the home minister as in my mom does not throw me out of the house for stocking the house with unseen cds and unread books. to be on the safer side, i will visit the bookstore only when i m finished with the ones i already have gathering dust at home!) 🙂

  4. Book: Zen in the Martial Arts: BY Joe Hyams

    The most inspiring one i ve ever read..Every chapter in the book is a lesson for the reader..

    But getting this book in the stores could be a challenge..as i tried a lot and finally got it in landmark 🙂

  5. priyaiyer

    @suriya narayanan

    hey! thanks for the suggestion! wil check out the book. 🙂

    btw, i visited your blog and found it very candid and straightforward. but why have comments not been enabled???? :O

  6. Thanks for visiting..
    Sorry UP…Its Read-only !!!

  7. Hey ! One doubt…Ahmedabad and Naroda are Same places or Different ?

  8. have not read even a single book that you have mentioned in the post 😦
    God! just shows how lost I am in the world of office and doing-nothing.

  9. priyaiyer

    @suriya narayanan

    oic, but why so? don’t mind my asking questions. i was born to ask them. 🙂

    as for your doubt, ahmedabad is a city in the state of gujarat. naroda is an area in ahmedabad. it is actually an industrial area, where there a lot of factories. hope this cleared your doubt. 🙂

    @rusty neurons

    fikar not! even i have not read a single book that I have mentioned in the hit list in my post! 😉

  10. priya.. I too never imagined I would like Eleven Minutes.. I took that up on a day where I got bored with my genre of books..
    Its truly a great read..I just loved the book..

  11. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    oh ok. point taken sir! 🙂 next time i raid the bookstore, will watch out for the book! 🙂

    btw, what was the genre of books you used to read earlier? just curious…

  12. nic enice….so u r trudging the road to vettidom…

  13. priyaiyer

    @sharan

    he he! kind of, yes. am trying to relax after a hectic period. 🙂

Leave a Reply

