Acceptance, letting go and moving on

I got this through a forward and couldn’t agree more:

When someone is doing something or about to do something in a way I don’t want it to be done – and I am not able to accept it – I become angry.
When someone is doing something or about to do something in a way I don’t want it to be done – and I am able to accept it – I remain tolerant.

When someone is having something or someone is able to produce the results which I am not able to produce – and I am not able to accept it – I become jealous.
When someone is having something or someone is able to produce the results which I am not able to produce – and I am able to accept it – I get inspired.

When I am encountering uncertainty or am about to encounter uncertainty, which I am not sure how I am going to handle – and I am not able to accept it – it causes fear in me.
When I am encountering uncertainty or am about to encounter uncertainty, which I am not sure how I am going to handle – and I am able to accept it – I feel adventurous about it.

When someone has done something that has emotionally hurt me – and I am not able to accept it – it develops hatred in me.
When someone has done something that has emotionally hurt me – and I am able to accept it – it helps me forgive them.

When someone is present in my thoughts, but is not physically present – and I am not able to accept it – I say ‘I am missing you’.
When someone is present in my thoughts, but is not physically present – and I am able to accept it – I say ‘I am thinking of you’.

Thus, the Emotional Equation becomes:
Something + acceptance = positive emotion
Something + non-acceptance = negative emotion

So, it is not something or someone who is making me feel positive or negative, but it is my acceptance or non-acceptance of something or someone which impacts things.

How true this is! I could truly relate to this.

There are certain situations in life you can do nothing about. They are painful in one way or the other, but they are just there and cannot be ignored. Acceptance of these situations helps you let go mentally, while holding on would only cause more pain. Of course, it is difficult, but much less burdensome than holding on to things.

Coincidentally, I saw ‘Autograph’ today, which is all about moving on in life. Wonderful theme. This movie touched me in a way very few other movies/books have, probably because it is very much reality-based. I could somehow relate to Divya’s character, which was very beautifully portrayed. Though I think the movie could have ended a bit differently, I liked it. I liked the way Autograph depicted that life can sometimes play strange tricks on us and we cannot do anything about it. In such situations, we just need to accept, let go and move on. When life gets sick, we just need to accept that it is a bad phase and move on. Thanks Chittappa for suggesting this movie to me!

Loved this song:

For people like me, here’s the translation of the first stanza:

Every flower tells us that life is a battle on a battlefield,

Every new dawn tells us

When there is night, day will come too,

One needs belief in one’s life,

Goals will definitely succeed one day

Mind! O Mind! Change yourself,

Even if it’s a mountain or snow, face it and fight

One’s mind should never falter,

One should never think ‘What kind of life is this?’

Is there a human mind in which there are no wounds?

As time passes, wounds, like magic tricks, disappear….

Wonderful lines, innit? So inspiring…. Of course, the translation does not do justice to the actual lyrics of the song and the way it is sung.

On a different note, I loved the way Tamil and Malayalam lyrics have been used in this song as well as the words of this song from Autograph.

I leave you with some beautiful quotes on somewhat similar lines to the subject matter of the post that I read somewhere:

  • You can choose what a problem will do to you. You may not be able to control the times, but you can compose your response. A problem can make you tender or tough. It can make you better or bitter. It all depends on you.
  • You cannot control what is going on outside you, but you can always control what is going on inside you.
  • It is your attitude more than your aptitude that determines your altitude.
  • Don’t focus on the problems. Focus instead on the possible solutions.
  • Don’t expect the world to be carpeted. If you don’t want your feet hurt, you’d better wear slippers.
10 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation, Movies, Music, Musings, Sourced

10 responses to “Acceptance, letting go and moving on

  1. Brinda

    Very true- We spend many precious moments of our life worrying about the past and the future. We should learn to accept things as they are rather than trying to find an answer to the question “Why did this happen to me?”. We should rather think “Ok.. This has happened.. What next? How do I cope?”

  2. I liked the forward, it goes with my theory that nobody can make someone do things which they don’t want to do, things can’t happen to you, you just make them happen..

  3. priyaiyer

    @brinda

    yep, true. when we start thinking ‘ok, this has happened. now what next?’, we begin to live life in the way it was meant to be lived. i agree. πŸ™‚

    @rambler

    thanks. glad that you liked it! πŸ™‚

  4. Me

    I have been sneaking around this blog for quite sometime….never commented…adichidadheenga…. πŸ˜‰

    …& thanks for your comments… πŸ™‚

  5. priyaiyer

    @me

    oh really? seri adikalai…. :)) welcome to the comments section!

    it was great going thru ur weblog. looks like i’ll be a regular visitor now! πŸ™‚

  6. Saumya

    Acceptance is something I’ve been thinking about for a while now… Something I need to learn .. and unlearn….

  7. priyaiyer

    @saumya

    er, why unlearn? :O

  8. Pooja

    We all know everything but many times we are not aware of the fact that we know such things!

    I always believe that there is no right or wrong its unto our perceptions and same thing you have drafted here: there is no negative or positive its unto our acceptance and non – acceptance.

    i was wondering do we all have same capability? if yes then y can’t we come up and get agree with all the meters?

    You might be wondering how does it relate with your write up? but it can be starting point of another thinking process……

  9. priyaiyer

    @pooja

    hey! welcome! long time, no see?

    yep, very true. i try to use this philosophy in my life as much as possible, and i do find a change in the way i look at things. πŸ™‚

    i didn’t get ur last point, though….

  10. Bud

    When i see someone doing something that is better than i could achieve and accept it – feel nothing. I don’t have to do everything i see. I’m not inspired by wanting to be someone else.

Leave a Reply

