Look who visited me on Christmas

Poor me cribbed all the way to office yesterday. Because we were working even on the day of Christmas. 😦

I got to office, pulled out my chair and found a pinstriped paper bag on it. I opened it and – Surprise! Surprise! – there was a cutie pie ceramic Santa Claus inside, with dangly legs. A gift from Shilpi for Christmas for her closest pals, just because she knew all of us would be pissed off. Now whose face wouldn’t break into a smile on seeing that? πŸ™‚

One thing deserves a mention here. If someone I knew had to be nominated for Santa Claus, I would undoubtedly choose Shilpi. She is one of the most generous souls I ever met – always thinking more about others than she does for herself. Reminding people to take medicines, ordering lunch for a colleague who couldn’t prepare it in the morning, buying dryfruits and glucose for a sick colleague, sending reminders to people for someone’s birthday, arranging surprises to cheer up people, buying Nivea cream because the little kid who comes to deliver tea in our office has dry and peeling skin on his cheeks due to the winter, thinking of ways to improve his life, so on and so forth. Always a kind word to say, always a kind deed to put in for others. The list is endless. People like her are a respite from all the pain and frustration in the world. Such people make even the tough times bearable. πŸ™‚

Coming back to the Santa toy, it remained perched on top of my computer for some time, during which I took this snap:

img_0031.jpg

See Santa sitting next to my computer in this pic:

img_0040.jpg

Later in the day, four of my colleagues – Shilpi, Pinki, Manmeet and Sonia – gave me a surprise again. This time it was the book ‘Wings of fire’ by Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam:

I had always wanted to read APJ’s life story and had been planning to get this book. The foursome knew this and had made all the arrangements and got it for me as a gift. πŸ™‚ On a totally unrelated note, it is rather easy to select a gift for a bibliophile, innit? πŸ™‚

Now, why this gift was bestowed upon me is a suspense. No, it was not a Christmas gift. It was given to me for a different reason, something that deserves a new post later. πŸ™‚

Overall, Christmas day was good. Christmas mails flooded our inboxes. We were all dressed in the season’s colour, red. I couldn’t help thinking that with all the decorations, the office looked very much like Santa’s factory, with elves clad in red making gifts for people. We also had an informal ‘Salaam Namaste’ day, where we were required to talk to each other like Javed Jaffrey in the movie. For instance, ‘Priyas, can you the please sends me that mails?’ or ‘I the hates doing this.’ It was fun and a welcome change. πŸ™‚

I didn’t get a chance to visit the church, though. 😦

Now for the most important part of the post – I feel blessed to have such wonderful colleagues and friends. Thanks, guys, for everything you’ve done for me – all four of you. To sum it up in one word, what I feel radiating from you guys is – warmth. I can’t possibly imagine office without you. Whatever would I have done without you? πŸ™‚ I might not have told you this, but you guys mean a lot to me.

In fact, the entire team is wonderful. I couldn’t have asked for more in terms of colleagues. πŸ™‚ Thanks, people, for everything. πŸ™‚

10 Comments

Filed under Friendship, My pics, Occasions, Reading Ramana, Work

10 responses to “Look who visited me on Christmas

  1. hehehe.. I can already see the camera working!! πŸ™‚
    Belated (one day late) merry christmas..

  2. can you pack and parcel Shilpi over to my office please? πŸ™‚

  3. P.S: you can attach yourself to that parcel too. we’ll have more fun here! πŸ™‚

  4. Sure its nice and refreshing to have colleagues like these:) Wings of Fire-ya quite interesting:) and yes, waiting for your post on why you got the gift:)
    Sathej

  5. Me

    I thought child labor was banned. No?

    Buying gifts for friends is a nice thing but buying Nivea for that kid…unga friend engayooo poitaanga**…

    btw how comfortable are you with Tamil?

    **Have u seen Kamal’s apoorva sagodharargal?..adhula vara dialog adhu…

  6. priyaiyer

    @rusty

    thanks for the wishes! yep, the camera is very much working! and i m loving it! πŸ™‚

    @priya

    sure sure! she loves your blog anyways! πŸ™‚ as for me, …..
    **off to ask my boss for a holiday**

    @sathej

    yep, it feels great for sure, the book does look great and that post, hopefully, will be on soon. πŸ™‚

    @me

    sadly, it is not! 😦 and yeah, she is like that. πŸ™‚

    me and my tamil? he he he he. read this:https://priyaiyer.wordpress.com/2007/12/05/confessions-of-a-gujarat-bred-tamilian/

    i am quite comfortable with normal, day-to-day tamil, but not so much with poetry and typical tamil words. no, i have not seen the movie, but will do so soon. have recently started watching tamil movies. πŸ™‚

  7. Neat Template. Merry Christmas. Belated, but still.
    πŸ˜‰

  8. priyaiyer

    @princess

    hey! thanks! wish you and your family a very merry (belated) Christmas too! πŸ™‚

  9. Merry Christmas Priya. Looks like you had an awesome christmas, and btw Merry Christmas from me to your pal Shilpi as well..
    Salaam Namasthe day, sounds awesome..
    I the likes it.

  10. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    merry christmas (belated) to you too! yep, i had an awesome christmas.

    shilpi says merry christmas too! πŸ™‚

    yep, salaam namaste day was fun. was a welcome change. me the loved it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

