A few days with Coelho

I can go all ga-ga over Coelho and not tire at all. He’s great. Simply great. He’s the man who gives a new dimension to my thoughts. Coelho rocks. He’s THE Coelho. πŸ™‚

I have always been intrigued by the way he writes. Deep, yet palatable. It must have taken a lot of living on his part to be able to write like that. Like I said in one of my earlier posts, I would like to meet him once in life.

That might be a dream for me, but sharing some snippets from his personal life is not. I am all set to begin reading ‘Paulo Coelho : Confessions of a pilgrim’ – a biography on Paulo Coelho by Juan Arias. I came across this book quite accidentally at a pavement book store. Of course, I bought it, feeling like a shopaholic feels on getting a bargain at a discount sale. πŸ™‚

It looks very, very interesting and I can’t wait to begin. πŸ™‚ A detailed rant will follow, hopefully. Do drop in a line if you have read this one already.

PS: Updated my other blog.

9 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

9 responses to “A few days with Coelho

  1. I think it must be fun, let us know how you liked the book

  2. I have read his most famous work “The Alchemist” and most portions of “Like a flowing river”. Liked them both. But there was one book of his by the name “11 minutes” which had been clutching my hair! Just could not carry on reading and had to drop it halfway. The funny part was one of my colleagues saw me reading it and without asking my opinion recommended it to her friend who, as expected, blasted me over phone when she had read only 25% of the book! πŸ™‚ I think it was a bad story. Just could not understand why the protagonist – a girl, lived the way she did. Read it?

    “shopaholic feels on getting a bargain at a discount sale” That was a good line. Where did you get it from?!

  3. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    yep, it does seem to be interesting. will put up my views on it for sure. πŸ™‚

    @hari

    i loved both alchemist and like a flowing river. also liked his manual of the warrior of light.

    as for 11 minutes, have got the book, but have not read yet. got mixed reviews about that one. some of my friends loved it, and some hated it. so i decided to check for myself. πŸ˜€ i was initially skeptical on reading the story line, then thought i should check it out. would like to see how coelho has treated the subject. πŸ™‚ am not ready to read it yet, though.

    that line, well, came out of my head. πŸ™‚ thanks.

  4. I have read just one book from him – The Alchemist. I liked it. But somehow, never went ahead with others.. Probably this is the time to do so… With so many blogger reviews floating around! πŸ™‚

    However, I remember one particular line from Alchemist. It still has kept me enthralled – (Not exactly the same words as in the book, I am afraid)
    “It’s the possibility of a dream coming true, that makes life interesting”

  5. priyaiyer

    @rusty

    yep, i remember that line too from alchemist. in fact, it was full of wonderful quotes that one can remember forever.

    do check out the other books by coelho. you’ll love them, especially like the flowing river and manual of the warrior of light.

  6. Have a nice time reading it πŸ™‚ About the line from Alchemist, well, its very nice indeed. But then, sometimes, the uncertainties frustrate you. But you’ve got to put up with those, I suppose.

    Coelho is indeed good. I would say he is a popular philosopher πŸ™‚ – much like popular science writers….

    PS : Sorry for talking about The Alchemist in a post meant for another book. I hope its ok πŸ™‚

  7. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thanks. i hope to have a nice time reading it too, when i do get the chance to read it. :((

    the line is indeed beautiful. yes, you have to put up with the uncertainties. part of the package called life. πŸ™‚

    and ya, it is ok. no issues. πŸ™‚

  8. Hey, saw this story and thought you would be interested:

    http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/02/12/arts/11harper.php

    “Starting Monday [Feb 12], readers who log on to http://www.harpercollins.com will be able to see the entire contents of “The Witch of Portobello” by Coelho;

    …HarperCollins also plans to upload a different title by Coelho each month for the rest of the year.”

  9. priyaiyer

    @bpsk

    hi! thanks a ton for the info. am very much interested! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

