The known stranger

A stranger you might be

In the eyes of the world,

But my heart,

It refuses to believe,

It says you never were away,

It says it has known you,

Forever, 

It was just that 

Our paths hadn’t crossed

As they did

A while ago;

When I meet you

I meet my own self,

My innermost emotions

You’ve touched,

You’ve struck a chord

Somewhere deep within me,

I’ve felt a bonding,

Almost instantaneous,

How can I take you

To be a separate being,

A stranger,

Someone unknown?

The heart never did understand

The language of the world,

And the heart speaks a language

Unknown to the world,

But I know

I believe, 

That you are

My very own.

____________________________________________________

On a slightly different note, my current obsessions in music:

Ajnabi mujhko itna bata

Aawaaz do humko

Pyaar ko ho jaane do

Ae ajnabi

Nahi saamne tu

Teri yaad saath hai

Jiya dhadak dhadak

10 Comments

Filed under Love, Music, My poems

10 responses to “The known stranger

  1. D.K.Suriya

    Nice one Priya.. 🙂

  2. Good poem and very good collection of songs once again. Thanx.

  3. I loved the poem!!!
    You are really good at this lady 🙂

  4. Oh thats touching indeed….

    //The heart never did understand

    The language of the world,

    And the heart speaks a language

    Unknown to the world//

    So very true….have always thought of this.

    Really nice verse….

    Sathej

  5. interesting.. on looking at the pic i am reminded of one incident while watching this Fanaa movie.In one of the scenes when Aamir khan falls down exhausted in snow in front of a house, I told my friends that Kajol will open the door of the house and she did. Well it may not be that tough to predict typcial Hindi movie scenes.but that was nice..

  6. priyaiyer

    thanks all of you. 🙂

  7. true.. its us who make people stranger… and us who turn strangers into companions….

    btw song on my mind..
    Song from sangharsh.. Tumhe, raat din, bas tumhe chaahte hain

  8. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    yep, very true…

    thats a nice song. 🙂

  9. kaushik

    good one, seems really spiritual. i really wish that u experience that feeling soon.

  10. priyaiyer

    @kaushik

    hey! welcome here! 🙂

    thanks. but spiritual?????

Leave a Reply

