My very own sun

The sky is overcast,

The clouds the deepest of gray,

The sun in hiding,

And the air cold,

Terrifyingly so;

 

The icy fingers of darkness,

Gloom and despair,

Reaching out,

Spreading,

Every place;

 

Beneath the dark sky,

In the dreary cold,

I sit,

Thinking,

How cold I am;

 

It is then when 

My very own sun

Shines bright, 

My very own sun,

That lives in my soul;

 

The warmth seeps through,

Coursing through my veins, 

Then there is light,

The darkness inside disappears,

As if someone said ‘Kazoom’;

 

I change,

I am born anew,

As if the darkness, 

The cold and gloom,

They never were at all;

 

I know now

To keep this sun

Alive in me,

To never be cold again,

To never know darkness again.

9 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation, Musings, My poems

9 responses to “My very own sun

  1. It reminded me of a famous kannada poem
    “karunadu ba belake ”

    it always feels great to fight the darkness.

  2. Thats really nice and touching….keep writing.
    Sathej

  3. D.K.Suriya

    So nice…

  4. D.K.Suriya

    All your poems reminds me of Deepti Naval`s BLACK WIND Poem collections- the one i liked very much..used to read that often during moments of distress.

  5. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    yep, it does for sure. btw, what does that mean? care to enlighten me?

    @sathej

    danks! ya, i will. 🙂

    @sn

    thanks. oh, i c. have never heard of it. dint know deepti naval was into writing too. 🙂 will try to check out the book.

  6. Brinda

    Nice poem… Kind of encouraging…

  7. priyaiyer

    @brinda

    thankings, madam! 🙂 long time?

  8. priyaiyer

    @balu

    danke! 🙂

Leave a Reply

