Me

I love. I care.

I protect. I support.

I nurture.

 

I sometimes burn.

I sometimes cry.

I give light to my near and dear ones.

 

I am soft. I am strong.

I cry buckets over a book or a movie.

I smile in the face of grief. I give strength to others.

 

I build bridges. I destroy walls.

I unite two homes.

I bring them closer.

 

I give birth. I bring new life into the world.

I shape a little one’s future.

I am honoured. I am humbled.

 

I love shopping and flowers and chocolates. I love pink.

I can stand my own in a Board Meeting.

Knowledge, will and courage are my weapons.

 

I love to be protected. I love to be loved.

I can make my mark in the world.

I can leave my footprints on the moon.

 

I am there in my parents’ walking sticks. I am there in my husband’s lunch box.

I am there in my brother’s Rakhi. I am there in my child’s homework.

I am there in the statements and reports at work.

 

I am Jodhaa. I am Sunita Williams. I am Shobhaa De.

I am Pratibha Patil. I am Sudha Murty.

I am the child that is abandoned on the roadside every day.

 

I am happy things are changing.

I know there is still a long way to go.

I am hopeful for more.

 

I am a woman.

I am proud to be a woman.

I love being a woman.

Happy Women’s Day.

14 Comments

Filed under Musings, Occasions

14 responses to “Me

  1. //I am there in my parents’ walking sticks. I am there in my husband’s lunch box.

    I am there in my brother’s Rakhi. I am there in my child’s homework.//

    That’s really touching. So true and very nice….

    Sathej

  2. Amazing! For one moment, I stopped my breath reading it continuously 🙂 Beautiful 🙂

  3. Vidya

    Simply amazing Priya…………..Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better……..U surpassed urself.

  4. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    danks! 🙂

    @swat and vidyaji

    welcome here, swat! 🙂

    thanks for the encouraging words. u made my day! 🙂

  5. Wow… Very cool one & simple in words but leaves lasting impression on the mind. Fascinating 🙂

  6. priyaiyer

    @vijay ganesh

    danks! glad u liked it! 🙂

  7. Beautiful. The thing I liked the most was that you were not seeing the world through rose-tinted glasses as I initially thought. The line “I am the child that is abandoned on the roadside every day” which was written in the same para that talks about great achievers proves that.

    “I am Jodhaa” Oh yeah, we know you saw the movie recently! 🙂

    Good one overall.

  8. priyaiyer

    @hari

    thanks! yep, me does not see the world through rose-tinted glasses.

    i saw jodhaa akbar recently and fell in love with jodhaa’s character. if the movie was anything to go by, jodhaa was a fantastic woman. we need more like her. 🙂

  9. nice- you seem to have a flair for writing verses! I just wish every woman celebrates her birth as much as u do! 🙂

  10. A lovely post. Happy Women’s Day. 🙂

  11. priyaiyer

    @sementi

    thanks! yep, i love writing such verses. i wish for that too! 🙂

    @stef

    thanks! happy women’s day! 🙂

  12. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    danks! 🙂

  13. Pingback: My sins against gender stereotypes « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

