A boost of motivation

First things first, Priya’s kitchen updated after ages. 

Secondly, I am here with some motivational quotes I collected from here and there, and loved. I hope they brighten your day, just as they did mine.

~ It doesn’t matter for how long the room has been dark; for a day, or a week, or a year, or for ten thousand years. The moment you bring in a candle, darkness vanishes like it was never there. Similarly, it does not matter for how long we are stuck in a sense of our limitations. The moment you decide to break free, nothing will stop you. Create the light of your life. 

~ As we sail through life, don’t avoid storms and rough waters. Just let it pass. Just sail. Always remember, calm seas never made skilful sailors.

~ Go ahead with life as it is, with the bumps and pitfalls. However it is, give your best to every moment. Don’t spend your time waiting for the perfect situation, something which is not very likely to come. Life is not perfect; the way you live can make it perfectly wonderful.

~ Never despise life’s fiery trials. They are God’s ways of bringing out the best in you. Always remember, you are a diamond; and the more a diamond is cut, the more it sparkles.

~ When the great Italian artist Michelangelo was painting frescoes on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel at the Vatican, a friend asked him why he was taking such pains with an obscure figure in the corner.

“Who will ever know whether or not it’s perfect?,” asked the friend.

“I will,” replied Michelangelo.

~ Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that was given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Mother Teresa, Leonardo Da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson and Albert Einstein.

~ I thank God for my handicaps, for through them, I have found my work, my God and myself. A person who has not gone through misfortune is really unfortunate, because he has not discovered how much he can fight, and achieve.

~ If we did all the things we were capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves.

~ A diamond is a chunk of coal that did well under pressure.

~ Do not be afraid to shine. This world needs what you have to give. Open up the areas of your being; expose them to yourself – to others. You are valuable, you are unique. You have much to give. Do not be afraid to give.

~ If there is a way, I will find one….

    If there is none, I will make one….

~ People spend a lifetime searching for happiness, looking for peace. They chase idle dreams, addictions, religions, even other people, hoping to fill the emptiness that plagues them. The irony is that the only place they ever needed to search was within themselves.

~ The moment you decide to stop in life is the beginning of your end. Keep moving ahead.

~ I find the greatest thing in this world not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving. To reach the port, we must sometimes sail with the wind, sometimes against it. But we sail, and not drift, nor live at anchor.

~ There will be good days, and there will be bad days. There will be times when you want to turn around, pack it up and call it quits. Don’t give up at that time, don’t quit. It is an opportunity to prove your worth.

~ I will not die an unlived life. I will not live in fear of falling or catching fire. I choose to inhabit my days, to allow my living to open me; to make me less afraid, more accessible, to loosen my heart, until it becomes a wing, a torch, a promise. I choose to risk my significance, to live so that which comes to me as seed goes to the next as blossom, and that which comes to me as blossom goes on as fruit.

~ Do not give up when you still have something to give. Nothing is really over until the moment you stop trying.

~ If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no. If you don’t step forward, you are always in the same place. If you don’t have a dream, you’ll never succeed. If you don’t stretch, you’ll never catch the ball.

~ Let go of the past, only then you move towards the future. Let go of the regrets, only then you move towards happiness. Let go of the presumptions, only then you move towards the truth. Let go of the problems, only then you move towards the solutions. Let go of yourself, only then you move towards divinity.

~ Look at a stone cutter hammering away at his rock, perhaps a hundred times, without as much as a crack showing in it. Yet at the hundred and first blow, it will split in two, and I know it was not the last blow that did it, but all that had gone before.

~ The best years of your life are the ones in which you decide your problems are your own. You do not blame them on your mother, the ecology, or the president. You realise that you control your destiny to a large extent.”

~ What you want to see in others, you must first see it inside you. What you expect from others, you must first expect it from yourself. Life is just a mirror.

~ Don’t write your name on the sand, the waves will wash it away. Don’t write your name on the sky, the wind will blow it away. Write your name in the hearts of people you come in touch with. That’s where it will stay.

~ Never explain yourself to anyone. Because the person who likes you does not need it, and the person who dislikes you won’t believe it.

~ I would like to be a flower which blossoms to full glory and dies, than being a tree that never blossoms. I would like to be a spark that burns with a brilliant blaze for a moment, than being a light which cannot show the path to anyone. I would like to be a superb meteor which carries a magnificent glow, than being a sleepy and permanent planet. I shall not waste my days in trying to prolong them. I shall use them. I am born to live, not to exist.

~ Failure is not negative. It is a teacher. It molds, refines and polishes you so that one day your light will shine for all to see. It isn’t the failure you experience that will determine your destiny, but the next step and then the next that will tell the story of your life.

~ There may be days when you get up in the morning and things aren’t the way you had hoped they would be. That’s when you have to tell yourself that things will get better.There are times when people disappoint you and let you down. But those are the times when you remind yourself to trust your own judgments and opinions, to keep your life focused on believing in yourself.

There will be challenges to face and changes to make in your life, and it is up to you to accept them.Constantly keep yourself headed in the right direction for you. It may not be easy at times, but in those times of struggle,
you will find a stronger sense of who you are. So when the days come that are filled with frustration and unexpected responsibilities, remember to believe in yourself and all you want your life to be.
Because the challenges and changes will only help you to find the goals that you know are meant to come true for you.Keep believing in yourself.

~ In life, the answer to only one question matters. Have you chosen a course that leads to a destination which matters most to you?

~ Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.

9 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation, Musings, Sourced

9 responses to “A boost of motivation

  1. Amazing quotes 🙂 Sure, they did brighten my day!! happy sunday 😛

  2. “Let go of the past, only then you move towards the future. Let go of the regrets, only then you move towards happiness. Let go of the presumptions, only then you move towards the truth. Let go of the problems, only then you move towards the solutions. Let go of yourself, only then you move towards divinity.”

    This was the best according to me:)

  3. priyaiyer

    @swat

    thanks! glad u liked them! 🙂

    @rambler

    i loved that one too…

  4. Brinda

    Hey! Really good quotes… I am going to take a print out and paste it on my desk.

  5. priyaiyer

    @brinda

    thanks! glad u liked them! i loved each one of these! 🙂

  6. aparnas

    Hey.. a very nice collection … these are gonna be a permanent fixture in my cubicle.. 🙂
    thanks for putting them together… 🙂

  7. priyaiyer

    @aparnas

    u r welcome. i loved each and every one of them too. 🙂

  8. Kavitha

    Hi Priya,

    I got to read some topics on your blog today. So, your blog will have one more regular visitor now 🙂

    Truly amazing quotes! Thanks for sharing them 🙂

    I wanted to share a couple of them.
    – A bend in the road is not the end of it unless you fail to make the turn
    – You never know how far you can fly until you spread your wings

    Best Regards
    Kavitha

  9. priyaiyer

    @kavitha

    hey! welcome here! 🙂 thanks for such beautiful quotes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

