The Movie Quirks Tag

I have been tagged by RamblerΒ to write on my movie quirks. What are the things I like and don’t like when it comes to watching movies?

First of all, I am not a big movie buff. I used to watch a couple of movies a year till last year. I was more into books. Then suddenly I developed an interest in movies and began watching them more frequently. You can say I am on my way to becoming a movie buff. πŸ™‚

Here go my quirks:

1) I used to love silly romantic movies which were all mush and nothing else when I was studying. For this reason, I liked KKHH and Pyar Kiya toh Darna Kya and the like. Over the years, my choice has changed a bit. Now, when I saw Pyar kiya toh darna kya and DDLJ again, I didn’t enjoy them as much.

Now I like a bit more sensible and mature movies. I still love mushy and romantic movies, but they got to have a bit of sense and a realistic touch to them. Like Hum aapke hain kaun, Mouna Ragam (Tamil), Vivah, Mozhi (Tamil), Autograph (Tamil), Jab Pyar Kisise Hota Hai. I like watching comedy too, but hate cheap comedy.

I hate watching action and psycho movies.

2) When I go to a theatre for watching a movie, I like to sit in the middle of the theatre, not too near and not too far from the screen.

3) I like going to the afternoon show of a movie, the 12 or the 3′ O clock show. I somehow don’t like night shows. Have never tried the morning show.

4) When I go to a theatre, I like going on time. I hate it if I miss part of the movie. I hate it too when other people come late and stomp on my feet while they grope their way to their seat.

5) I don’t like walking out in the middle of a movie, even if it is crappy. Once I have begun watching a movie, I like seeing it to the end.

6) I like company while watching movies. Quiet company. πŸ™‚Β  It could be anyone who shares the same taste in movies as me.

I have never tried going to a theatre to watch a movie alone. Would love to check out how that feels. πŸ™‚

7) I hate people passing comments, talking among themselves and talking on the cell phone when the movie is on. ‘The heroine will now slap the hero, then she will fall in love with him….’ – makes me want to say, “Kindly let me see for myself.”

8 ) There are very few ordinary theatres left in Ahmedabad after multiplexes have come up. Multiplex tickets are a bit too exorbitantly priced for me. πŸ™‚ So in the last year, I have ended up seeing quite a few movies on CDs and DVDs, more out of compulsion than out of choice.

9) I like to watch a movie in a language I understand. If I don’t understand the language, it fails to hold my interest. Language, to me, is a very important part of the movie. True, there are subtitles, but somehow it is not the same as listening to and understanding the language first hand.

About language, somehow, I have always been stuck to only Hindi movies. Never got around to watching Tamil or English movies. It is very recently that I started watching Tamil movies and, similarly, hope to develop an interest in English movies too.

10) I love watching offbeat movies. My friends sometimes remark that I am an art movies lover. Maybe yes. I like watching movies that are different, made for a select audience, without the commercial aspect in mind. Like TZP, Jodhaa Akbar. I have watched quite a few box office flops and liked them. I like viewing a movie for itself, and my liking is not determined by the kind of reception it gets at the box office. I prefer judging for myself. That does not mean I don’t like box office hits.

11) I like munching on chips or popcorn when the movie is going on. A movie in a theatre is almost synonymous with dinner outside. After watching a movie, I hate going back home and having to cook.

12) I like to have the general idea of the story line of a movie before I go and watch it. Not the entire story in detail, but I like to know what I am going to be watching. The source could be anyone – a trusted friend or a newspaper or a T.V./radio show.

13) I am not the first-day-first-show kind of person. If I want to watch a movie in a theatre, I like doing it in the second week or so after the release, after the crowd has ebbed a bit.

14) I like movies in which the lady character is strong. I like movies where the hero and/or heroine are morally strong and come up from scratch. Somehow, such stories get to me.

15) I like movies which have great music. Like Hum dil de chuke sanam and Dil toh pagal hai.

I hereby tag:

~ Niths

~ Sharan

~ Anyone else who is interested in taking up the tag.

18 Comments

Filed under Tag

18 responses to “The Movie Quirks Tag

  1. No. 7,8, and 13 – how true!!!
    I m not much of a movie goer… but once a while I do watch movies – like yesterday, I saw ‘The Bucket List’.
    I loved the movie although I had heard that the reviews were nt so great.
    It has humour, sentiments and great acting by two veterans (Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman)

  2. priyaiyer

    @rusty

    madam, where art thou??? long time, no see?

    me is not much of a movie goer either. and i want to begin seeing some good english movies. the bucket list is one on my hit list. πŸ™‚

  3. aparnas

    A neat compilation. Came here from Aparna’s blog.
    Hope you don’t mond me blogrolling you. Been going through some of your older posts. Real nice. πŸ™‚

  4. priyaiyer

    @aparnas

    danke! pls go ahead and blogroll! πŸ™‚

  5. I wanted to watch a movie alone, I have never done it in a movie hall.. its on my to do things list πŸ™‚

    music yes some times great melodies makes it all worth to watch the movie.

  6. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    i have never done that. would love to try out too! πŸ™‚

    and yes, good music does add to the beauty of the movie.

  7. 😦 I dont know… I am yet to get back into writing mode..

    meanwhile, I will try and complete your tag that I ws supposed to take up long ago…

    I really admire yours, rambler’s methodical ways of blog life (dont get me wrong, I know of only your blog lives πŸ™‚ ] – you guys are so punctual!!

  8. priyaiyer

    @rusty

    oh ok. well, it happens. it will come on its own. πŸ™‚ all your fans are waiting for your two-inch tales, though. πŸ™‚

    would love to read your version of the tag. πŸ™‚

    as for me, i love scribbling on my blog. life seems incomplete without it. and i manage to find time for it. πŸ™‚ hence the rantings almost every day. πŸ™‚

  9. sementi

    My my! I like quiet company, hate commenting during the course of a movie, like offbeat movies and ones with woman centered roles!
    Here’s to more similarities! πŸ™‚

  10. priyaiyer

    @sementi

    amazing! πŸ™‚

  11. yay ! nice tag πŸ™‚ I like it. Will defi take it up πŸ™‚ Inikki mattum lab exam mudiyattum, apram paaru blog a πŸ˜›

  12. priyaiyer

    @niths

    waiting to read ur version. all the best for the exam. πŸ™‚

  13. >>I like watching comedy too, but hate cheap comedy. I hate watching action and psycho movies.

    >> When I go to a theatre, I like going on time. I hate it if I miss part of the movie. I hate it too when other people come late and stomp on my feet while they grope their way to their seat.

    Me too πŸ™‚

  14. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    πŸ™‚ its amazing. blogging has helped me meet so many people with whom i share common tastes.

  15. D.K.Suriya Narayanan

    Hate watching action movies? Try out “The 36th chamber of shaolin” and see how many ppl you`ll start fighting from the next day onwards.. πŸ™‚

  16. priyaiyer

    @sn

    hav never heard of it. will try to get it, though! πŸ™‚ lets c.

  17. D.K.Suriya Narayanan

    Hey. You then definitely need to watch it. It`s my ever favorite action movie.Just read the review & you`ll know its worth.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_36th_Chamber_of_Shaolin

  18. priyaiyer

    @sn

    thanks for the link. shall chk out.

Leave a Reply

