The Notebook

“In times of grief and sorrow I will hold you and rock you,

and take your grief and make it my own;

When you cry, I cry,

and when you hurt, I hurt;

And together we will

try to hold back the floods of tears and despair

and make it through the potholed streets of life.”

From ‘The Notebook’ by Nicholas Sparks

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just finished reading Nicholas Sparks’ ‘The Notebook’, whose sequel ‘The Wedding’ I read recently. I took up ‘The Notebook’ as a timepass, but very soon I was hooked to it. The emotions invoked by the writer are so strong that I could not put it down. After ages, I read a book at one go.

I don’t have the right words to describe this book. I would say it is simply beautiful and heart-touching. It is one of the best books I have read in quite some time. I am glad I came across it and went through it. It might be fiction, but it touched me in a beautiful way I cannot even begin to describe. I could relate well to what the characters were going through.

It is the story of Noah and Allie – two lovebirds. Both of them are artists, and hence, different from the rest of the world. Their story is an example of what true love should be. Sparks does it again! By the time I finished reading, I was left with a mixture of emotions – sadness at what they had to go through, joy at what they shared, a sense of bitterness for the twists and turns that life sometimes takes, and a sense of sweetness because there are people like Noah and Allie.

I don’t know if many will approve of the incident that brought Noah and Allie together. Allie did what she knew she should do, what she wanted to do, not what she was expected to do. What they have between them is so divine, so pure, that the reader knows Allie is doing the right thing.

It is a poignant story that will definitely touch a sensitive heart. Some people might find it sappy and unrealistic, but I just fell in love with this book. It is a different kind of story, which not all would appreciate.

As the narrator says in the beginning of the novel, some people would see the story as a tragedy, while some would see it as a wonderful romance. It is a divine love story for sure. The romance between the characters never actually ended, but I couldn’t help being sad for them.

It is a must-read for those who like Sparks’ writing style. It is one of his best works. For those who are planning to read this, might I add a warning? – Do keep some tissues handy. You are most definitely going to need them when you read this.

15 Comments

Filed under Love, Reading Ramana

15 responses to “The Notebook

  1. I have not read the book, but have seen the movie.. I felt it was an ok movie..may be I should have read the book first.
    But then I generally do not like the mushy movies or books 🙂

  2. D.K.Suriya Narayanan

    Photo is nice 🙂

  3. 🙂 currently reading To kill a mocking bird. Will prolly read Notebook after that!

  4. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    i wouldnt exactly call this complete mush. it was a bit more realistic than that. the mills and boons i used to read earlier were pure mush – nothing realistic about them. 🙂

    and ya, i definitely think one should read the book before seeing the movie. its more fun that way. 🙂 i loved the portrayal of emotions in this book.

    @sn

    danke! 🙂

    @swat

    do read this and let me know how u found it. if u are a sparks fan, u are gonna love this. 🙂

    btw, how is ‘to kill a mocking bird’? i have been wanting to read it.

  5. Oh those lines are really touching! Will definitely read this one soon. Poignant, sensitive….like those kind of portrayals. Reading a book in go speaks a lot for itself. I too read The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde recently at one stretch. Liked the message and the thought process in the book immensely.
    Sathej

  6. “to kill a mocking bird” was a real good book.. I liked reading that.. but I liked “catcher in the rye” much more 🙂

  7. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    oh i c. hav been wanting to read ‘the catcher in the rye’ too. 🙂

  8. ah ! i gotta read a lot of Sparks’ books now 😐 Wish i had more time 😦 Lucky you.. *growls*

  9. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    do let me know how u liked it. 🙂

    i havent read the picture of dorian gray. wanna read now. 🙂

    @niths

    yep, do read them. especially this one. its fantabulous. and tell me how u liked it. 🙂

    i wish i had more time too. 😐 😦

  10. I am not able to get hold of this book at all in my library 😦 I want to read this one before reading ‘The Wedding’ which you have said is a sequel to it…

  11. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    oh, thats bad. i was not able to find this book either. so i read the ebook. i know its not the same as reading a paperback, but still. 🙂

    u can download the ebook from http://www.esnips.com/doc/fbfcb406-e6b4-4dbe-a2ed-b8cb753d0fde/The_Notebook%5B1%5D

    i hope this is helpful. do let me know how you found the book. 🙂

  12. Read it….It was quite nice. Sometime in the middle of the book, I felt he was dwelling a bit on unnecessary things. But, the last parts of it were really touching.

    And yes, the Picture of Dorian Gray is really good. Subtle, deep and thoughtful….

    Sathej

  13. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    told u! 🙂 will try to read up about dorian gray.

  14. Hey saw your reply only today. Thanks a lot for the link! 🙂 With no luck in finding this book, I borrowed ‘The Wedding’ only today and read the first 4-5 pages. Now that you have given me the link, the wedding has to wait now 🙂

  15. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    u r welcome! 🙂 waiting for the review on your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

