I wanna ride

I wanna ride once more

On the lost highway I so loved;

 

I wanna ride talking to the wind,

My hair flying loose;

 

I wanna ride with no cares in the world,

My pony taking the lead;

 

I wanna ride losing myself,

Away, away from the world;

 

I wanna ride with a feeling of everlasting bliss,

As if I never saw pain before;

 

I wanna ride with the blood coursing through me,

As if there would be no tomorrow;

 

I wanna ride away from all my shackles,

Be liberated, if only for a day.

_______________________________________________________________________

Note: 1) This is my take on the prompt for the week at Writer’s Island – The Lost Highway.

2) With this post, Uniquely Priya achieves a li’l milestone of 200 posts. 🙂

18 Comments

Filed under Life, My poems, Occasions, Prompts

18 responses to “I wanna ride

  1. If only for a day..
    well I am greedy priya :).. I would have wanted it more 😀

  2. wow! This is so good.

    i lov all those lines.. the feelings et all..

    Wonderful take on the prompt!

    wow!

  3. thank u so much girl!

    well i have yu in my read er too.. so zap i cme wen u update it here 🙂

  4. pi! 200..!! hmm.. great.. congratulations.. way to go 😉

  5. Awesome lines … Wouldn’t we give up anything for that one day !! Sigh …

  6. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    well, i am greedy too. i meant that ‘one day’ figuratively, as in for a short period, meaning that we have to come back to the world at the end of the blissful ride. 😀

    @veens

    thanks! 🙂 i m honoured!

    @rahul

    thank you! 🙂

    @vinod

    long time, no see? welcome back! 🙂 thanks! 🙂 yep, would give up anything for that short time period of joy! so typical of a dreamer! 🙂

  7. SK

    Hey, good one!
    I love those days …. when days where filled with dreams and creativity.

  8. Nice one, Priya. Good visualization. Exactly how I have been feeling for the last few fays. The only difference is I posted lamenting about it, while you have a way with optimistic imagination 🙂 How I wish I had such a day….
    Sathej

  9. For “Uniquely Priya” 🙂

    ~ Much love, Nith

  10. priyaiyer

    @sk

    hey! welcome here! glad u liked it. 🙂

    @sathej

    thats the way i have been feeling for the last week too. i wish i had a day like that…. 🙂

    @niths

    danke madam! lovely flowers! 😀

  11. Oh forgot….congrats for the 200th post. Keep writing….poems, short stories et al.
    Sathej

  12. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    danks! 🙂

  13. Me

    omg…200 posts aaaa…nan eppo 100th post podradhu…eppo 200…hmmmm….enough of my polambals…congratulations !!!

  14. priyaiyer

    @me

    🙂 thanks!

  15. Congrats on the 200 posts! Hope you reach 300 soon 😉

  16. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    thanks! 🙂

  17. priyaiyer

    @vijay ganesh

    joan of arc, huh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

