Seasons and reading

The question over at Booking through Thursdays this week is:

Do your reading habits change in the Spring? Do you read gardening books? Even if you don’t have a garden? More light fiction than during the Winter? Less? Travel books? Light paperbacks you can stick in a knapsack?

Or do you pretty much read the same kinds of things in the Spring as you do the rest of the year?

My answer: No, I don’t think my reading habits change with the seasons of the year. The kind of books I read during a particular time period are dependent on the circumstances in my life during that period and my mood. 

What say you?

10 Comments

Filed under Tag

10 responses to “Seasons and reading

  1. Mood….thats the word. Precisely. But sometimes, on a rainy day, I would read say a Book A, that I feel is best suited. Again, however, it all has got to do with the mood.
    Sathej

  2. interesting question..my reading habits do not change over the seasons, but I do go through various seasons in my habits though, I started with non fiction for a long time I was reading just the heavy stuff, they one day I wanted to read a travelogue and then many others followed as well. Now I am getting drawn to Indian writings..may be next on the card are biographies 🙂

  3. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    eggjhactly! it all boils down to mood. 🙂

    @rambler

    same here. there are phases in my reading. last year, i read a lot of non-fiction, specifically philosophy and then self-help, then moved to fiction, then to chick lit, now again i m on non-fiction. phases. 😀 probably these phases depend on the circumstances in life during that period.

  4. And ya, forgot….the header picture is nice. Very appropriate 🙂
    Sathej

  5. me

    Not sure if my mood chooses the books I read or the books set my mood. I believe its the latter. Books bring in joy even amidst sorrow, might rekindle old memories and bring in sorrow amidst joy, evokes sympathy when totally uncalled for, anger when your mind is so serene, …. so much more… so its the books which set moods and call for spring and summer…

  6. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    thanks! 🙂

    @me

    yep, books do influence mood. when i m low, i read some peace-making or inspiring stuff, and i begin feeling better. when i m balanced, i like reading non fiction. 🙂 i could relate to your comment. sometimes, while reading, for reasons others find worthless, i end up touched or nostalgic or inspired. 🙂 sometimes, for no apparent reason, i just know i HAVE to read a certain author.

  7. well…no not weather….but sure my mood does influence:)

  8. priyaiyer

    @veens

    yep, same here. 🙂

  9. sementi

    my reading habits do change with time. but at the end of the day, all i want from a book is that it should keep me occupied, 100 or 1000, the pages should turn fast!

  10. priyaiyer

    @sementi

    eggjhactly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

