Stuck without a read?

The question over at Booking Through Thursdays for the week:

Quick! It’s an emergency! You just got an urgent call about a family emergency and had to rush to the airport with barely time to grab your wallet and your passport. But now, you’re stuck at the airport with nothing to read. What do you do??

And, no, you did NOT have time to grab your bookbag, or the book next to your bed. You were . .  grocery shopping when you got the call and have nothing with you but your wallet and your passport (which you fortuitously brought with you in case they asked for ID in the ethnic food aisle). This is hypothetical, remember….

My answer:

If it is a family emergency, I wouldn’t be able to concentrate on reading anyways. So, I would just sit back and think, or observe people in the time I have got. Maybe, if it is a long-distance flight, I would buy a book or some magazines from the airport book store.

Secondly, I more often than not carry a notepad and pen with me wherever I go. So, I guess I would begin scribbling. 🙂

PS: Chetan Bhagat’s new novel is releasing some time in May. I hope this one is as much fun as his two earlier books. Looking forward to it.

PPS: I finished reading Messiah’s Handbook by Richard Bach. I found it AWESOME! I wanted to post about my favourite quotes from the book, but then realised I would have to type out the whole book! It’s a sort of guide book from the Messiah. The procedure is – think about a question that is troubling you in life, close your eyes and select a page at random, read what’s on that page. Interpret it and you will find the answer to your question. I tried this out on a couple of occasions, and, though it might sound far fetched, I felt it works. Somehow.

9 Comments

Filed under Tag

9 responses to “Stuck without a read?

  1. Yes… I would also buy them there.. and yah… even i won’t be able to concentrate 😦

    Messiah’s Handbook… this is he 2nd one… I gotto get a copy of t now!

  2. Hey Priya..

    I know you read a LOT!

    So I need some suggestions. I don’t know what I want… but I want to read something really different.

    Do you think.. you got some ideas?!

    Please will u help me?!

    thanks 😀

  3. kinjal

    certainly i would also not be able to concentrate on anything other than the emergency. would make few calls here and there, try to find out what exactly is the matter and how serious it is. u know cellphone is always handy….whether grocery store or a bookshop. though hypothetical, but can be very relative.

  4. it would be nice to discuss some of your fav quotes from Messiah’s handbook and read your readers interpretation..most of his quotes are worth the discussion 🙂

  5. Your PPS : This has worked for me on all occasions..infact i am totally driven by such things…in life. I always feel them like omens driving me somewhere…like the one in Alchemist.

  6. Oh the question honestly doesn’t make much sense to me. It is a family emergency after all! I wouldn’t even think of reading!
    Sathej

  7. priyaiyer

    @veens and veens again

    if u like reading quotations and reflecting on them or a bit of a philosophical read, i think u will like messiahs handbook.

    what kind of book do you like reading? what genre do you read normally? i need to know that in order to suggest something different. 🙂

    @kinjal

    ya, exactly.

    @rambler

    would love to write about Messiah’s handbook, but the problem is, as i said, i loved almost everything in the book. in case of such books, it is very difficult to choose your favourites – like in case of gitanjali. i would like to discuss a few things about the book too with an expert on bach like you. 😀

    @sn

    you mean to say you also feel the messiahs handbook works as a guidebook? :O did i get you right here?

    @sathej

    my point ejatlee..

  8. philosophy a padikkaraya?

  9. priyaiyer

    @sharan

    yep, the book i just finished – messiahs handbook – was philo. but i am trying to experiment with different kinds of books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

