Booked!!!

IΒ picked up this book tag from Stef’s lovely blog, Pixie Dust. Here you go:

A book that made you laugh:
One night at the call centre – Chetan Bhagat

Since only one book is to be mentioned, I mentioned the name of the book which made me laugh the most. The second one is Hot Water by PG Wodehouse.

A book that made you cry:
The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks

A book that scared you:
Veronika decides to die – Paulo Coelho

I haven’t read this book yet, though I bought it a long time ago. Somehow, it scares me.

A book that disgusted you:
The stars shine down – Sidney Sheldon

This was the first and last Sheldon I ever read.

A book you loved in elementary school:
Gokulam.

A book you loved in middle/junior high school:

The Secret seven series – Enid Blyton

A book you loved in high school:
The Chicken Soup for the soul series

A book you loved in college:

I used to read a lot of Mills and Boons in my college life, and loved a lot of them. My favouritest was ‘The fraudulent fiancee’ by Muriel Jensen. Other books that deserve a mention here (MBs) are – ‘Bride of my heart’ by Rebecca Winters and ‘All it takes is family’ by Sharon De Vita.

A book that challenged your identity:
Like the flowing river – Paulo Coelho.

Not literally, but it made me think about my life a lot.

A series that you love:
The adventures of the wishing chair series – Enid Blyton

To this day, my heart gives a leap when I see this collection in Landmark.

Your favourite horror book:
I don’t read horror. Never done till date.

Your favourite science fiction book:
Haven’t read science fiction till date. This is one genre I want to experiment in in future.

Your favourite fantasy:

Again, ‘The adventures of the wishing chair’ series. πŸ˜€

Your favourite mystery:
Another genre I have never picked up till date. 😦

Your favourite biography:

I have never read a biography. ‘The memoirs of a geisha’ was the closest thing to a biography that I have read and liked.

Your favourite “coming of age” book:
Like the flowing river – Paulo Coelho

I have taken my favourite ‘coming of age’ book to mean my favourite book after I matured. (Have I still matured or not? – that is a question, but I choose to ignore it as of now πŸ˜€ ) Other books that come close are Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, Who will cry when you die? by Robin Sharma and Messiah’s handbook by Richard Bach.

Your favourite classic:

Gitanjali – Tagore

Your favourite romance book:
The bridges of Madison county – Robert James Waller

This tag somehow made me feel I still have a lot to read. I am still a kid in the world of books. πŸ™‚

I now pass on this infection to 3 bibliophiles I know:

Niths

Rambler

Nagashri

Anyone else who finds this interesting can take this up too!

8 Comments

Filed under Tag

8 responses to “Booked!!!

  1. Lovely? πŸ˜› I’m flattered.
    And I love The Wishing Chair series too. They’re brilliant, but then most of Enid Blyton’s books are.

  2. Nithya Sivashankar

    Taggie done πŸ™‚

  3. priyaiyer

    @stef

    yep, it IS lovely. πŸ™‚

    i would love to read the wishing chair series again.

    @niths

    danks for taking it up! πŸ˜€

  4. wow thats a lot of genre’s πŸ™‚ I think I might end up writing all of them as never read this genre …

    I have never read sheldon..thought she [i think its a she :)] was a popular writer..why disgusted?

  5. No ayn rand stuff? surprised !!!

  6. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    πŸ™‚ that happened to me too. of late, i have realised that i m still very amateur in the field of reading. have a long way to go.

    i read the sheldon book a long time back. somehow, was disgusted with it. dont even remember what the story was…

    @vijay ganesh

    umm, as i said to a friend earlier in the day, i am just a chotu bibliophile. i have got a lot to do in this area. there is a lot of scope for improvement. i m yet to pick up ayn rand.

  7. guess…. i cant even start thinking where to start πŸ˜€

    this was good!

    i loved Enid Blyton!

    i even liked Nancy Drew! πŸ˜€

    this was a good one!

  8. priyaiyer

    @veens

    πŸ™‚ this tag made me feel inadequate.

    i used to read nancy drew too. πŸ™‚ enid blyton is looooveeeeeeeeeeeeely…

Leave a Reply

