Manual labour – II

The question over at Booking Through Thursday this week is an extension of last week’s question:

Scenario: You’ve just bought some complicated gadget home . . . do you read the accompanying documentation? Or not?

Do you ever read manuals?

How-to books?

Self-help guides?

Anything at all?

My answer:

I am way too lazy to read all that fine print. 😀 I don’t read the how-to books that accompany gadgets at all. The explanation given by the salesman is enough. I don’t use tooooooooo hi-fundoo gadgets either. I prefer live experimentation with the product. I seek the accompanying documentation only when I have some problem with the gadget.

I have been chided many a time for this habit, but some things just never change. 😀 

As for how-to books, the only one I ever bought was ‘How to get from where you are to where you want to be’. I still haven’t touched it, and I bought it about 6 months back. 😐

Coming to self-help books, I have never gone beyond the first few pages of the book. But in case of Robin Sharma, the case was different. I loved reading him. However, I find these books do not tell me anything beyond what I already know. They might kindle a spark of realisation and open a window somewhere in my mind. This is one genre of books I want to experiment in in future. 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

8 responses to “Manual labour – II

  1. Agree with you, Priya.

    Read gadget manuals!? No way I would do that. So boring. I I get into problems and there is no way out then I do it i.e., if I can’t do without the gadget. And yes, I too abhor hi-fi gadgets. Serving the purpose – that is of greatest importance to me.

    As for self-help guides, I believe the first step to self-help is not buying the self-help guide! I find it better to shut down and think in silence rather than resort to such books.

    Sathej

  2. in short yes to all the questions 😀

    I always like to read manuals, its fun to know little details, specially technical specifications..

  3. I don’t leave even a single page of a manual unread 😀 As for self-help guides, I read it sometimes when I don’t have anything else to do 😉

  4. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    🙂 agree with u except on the self-help books part. i would like to experiment again with other authors in future.

    @rambler and aparna

    reading buffs, eh? 🙂 i can’t bear reading all that technical stuff. 😦

  5. Lol! That question reminds me of a weird habit of mine. I generally meddle with whatever gadgets I buy to learn how they work. Never have the patience to sit and get thro the entire manual. But once I’m comfortable working with it, I read the manual sometime when I’m utterly bored. I cant explain why, but thats what I do..

  6. priyaiyer

    @sementi

    he he. sounds like me… 🙂

  7. neither do i 😀

    i never read such things 🙂

  8. priyaiyer

    @veens

    join the club.. 😀

Leave a Reply

