The InspiroMusic Tag

I had been tagged by Rambler some time ago with this. The rules of the tag are:

Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it gives you an idea for a story, script or just puts you into a better frame of mind AND/OR peek into the lyrics and find a verse that sums up the theme of whatever project it is you’re working on. If possible, post a video of the song to convey to readers the full context of the song and the mood it puts you into.

Here goes:

Ah, there are so many songs I love and which touch me in different ways. It is rather difficult to point out one song. There are a number of songs that put me in a better mood. Music, in general, puts me in a better mood. Some songs inspire a romantic mood, while some inspire naughtiness or happiness. Some make me contemplative.

When it comes to inspiring creativity, I think beautifully creative songs like ‘Mera kuch samaan tumhare paas pada hai’ or ‘Bol na halke halke’ do the trick. The imagination used in the songs leaves me stupefied. These songs have that poetic feel to them. As of now, I am hooked to ‘Bol na halke halke’.

Some of my favourite lines from Bol na halke halke:

“Dhaage tod laaon chandni se noor ke
Ghoonghat hi bana lo roshni se noor ke”

(the scene is that of two people who are in love talking to each other. the guy asks the girl to steal the moonlight thread by thread and to make a veil out of it)

“Aa neend ka sauda karein, ik khwaab dein ek khwaab lein,
Ek khwaab to aankhon mein hain ek chand ke takiye tale”

(The guy: come, let us give up our sleep and share our dreams, i.e. talk the whole night through. The girl: There is one dream in my eyes, to love you, and another one, to stay with you forever, is hidden beneath the pillow of the moon. The second dream seems very distant to her, as distant as the moon, and has to be stolen from beneath the moon’s pillow after the moon goes to sleep. These lines are followed by the guy saying ‘kitne dinon se ye aasmaan bhi soya nahi hai, isko sula dein’ , meaning ‘the sky has not slept for several days. along with the moon, let us put the sky too to sleep, so that we can talk at leisure.)

WOW!!!

Such songs start me off – they kindle creative thinking in me. πŸ™‚ They put me in a poetic sort of mood. πŸ™‚ To get me started on a work project, though, any good music will do. πŸ™‚

I tag Sathej and Suchitra. Anyone else who is interested can also take this up! πŸ™‚

11 Comments

Filed under Music, Tag

11 responses to “The InspiroMusic Tag

  1. hey nice line from the song Mera kuch saman..
    one song I really liked in the movie is “Chotti si kahani se”..btw I just watched the movie couple of weeks back, I liked it a lot

  2. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    umm, those lines are from bol na halke halke, not from mera kuch samaan. btw, the latter is a beautiful song too…

    choti si kahani se is great too. πŸ™‚

  3. All at sea 😦
    Sathej

  4. Suthamaga onnum puriyalai madam..very few thamizh songs in the other tag too..

  5. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    😦

    @sn

    😦 its a wonderfully creative song. why dont u try googling for the meaning?

    I dont listen to much of tamil…

  6. it is a wonderful song … it is one of the new favs i have πŸ™‚

  7. priyaiyer

    @veens

    mine too… πŸ™‚

  8. Hey Priya, thoda busy hoon. Will get the tag done sometime πŸ™‚ Don’ worry, I got the general idea πŸ˜‰

  9. priyaiyer

    @suchitra

    hey! wokay. no issues. πŸ™‚ just drop me a line when u are done. would be fun to read and listen to ur version.

  10. priyaiyer

    @suchitra

    ** rushing to ur blog **

Leave a Reply

