A random rant from Chennai

~ I reached Chennai yesterday night after an uneventful flight, which I enjoyed as always. Closing your eyes at the time of take-off and just feeling the sensation of going up, up, up – rising gradually – is incredible. Once again, I realised I love the feeling. When the plane has just taken off, opening your eyes and looking out to see millions of lights looking like a huge swarm of multi-colored fireflies in a haphazard pattern, looking out at the moon from your window – it is an even more incredible feeling. The landing feels like a comeback on earth after being on a flying carpet. Yes, I am still a kid at heart! πŸ™‚

~ I began reading Swami and friends on the flight, thanks to Sathej. I am happy I found another author whose books are simple and an enjoyable read. πŸ™‚

~ The always-busy city of Chennai looks very, very different in the dead of the night. I loved going home without the traffic, for a change.

~ I loved being warmly welcomed by relatives, especially by grandparents. I loved the expressions on their faces.

~ The eat-sleep-talk-read-eat-sleep-talk-go out cycle seems like bliss. πŸ™‚

~ Rasam made in ‘iiya sombu’ tastes awesome. πŸ™‚

~ Talking to one of the smartest and most talkative 6-year-olds I have ever met made my day. I listened to the stories of atleast 6 assorted films and a reading of ‘The Snow Queen’, at the end of which I was ROFL at her statement wrt a movie – ‘Che! Avanukku love pannave therile!’

~ The Anjeneyar Kovil at Nanganallur is fantabulous. The scent of malli poo assailed my senses. I, however, wished I could have had some private time with God. 😦 The prasadam, a donnai full of puli sadam, was yummmmm…

~ Palapazham and malli poo and looking forward to a lot more relaxing and experimenting in the days to come feels like, again, bliss. πŸ™‚

23 Comments

Filed under Everyday polambals, Places, Reading Ramana

23 responses to “A random rant from Chennai

  1. hey looks like you are having a nice vacation.

  2. >> ~ Rasam made in β€˜iiya sombu’ tastes awesome.

    Damn, that’s the like the best food ever….My Patti still makes it whenever I go home, no wait, I go home whenever my patti makes that rasam… πŸ™‚

    You seem to be enjoyin chennai. Well I think its time I experience chennai as well…

    vc

  3. i had been to the anjaneyar temple 3 weeks back with friends. stuffed ourselves silly with Palapazham, watermelon and of course the prasadham that they give.

  4. Belated welcome to Chennai! πŸ™‚ Hope you have a great time here visiting all the long list of places that everyone seem to have suggested to you πŸ˜‰

  5. Vaango vaango… πŸ™‚
    Sowkiyama?? πŸ˜›
    You already visited one of the “Must visit ” places.. πŸ™‚
    Ok here goes the foodie list..

    Dahi based chat, Badam Milk, Rasamalai from Shree Mithai..
    Golgappa from Gangotree
    Tender coconut pudding, Jughead’s spl from Fruit Shop on Greams Road.
    Mixed parotta, mini tiffin from Saravana Bhavan
    Manhattan fries, Triple Paneer Pizza, Russian Sandwich and Pina Colada from New Yorker.
    Millennium mousse from Sweet Chariot.
    Corn on toast, Lasagne from Eden.
    Chocolate mousse from Movenpick
    Flavored butter pop corn at Sathyam πŸ˜€
    Bread Chat from Adayar Anandha Bhavan πŸ˜›
    Sunday buffet at Courtyard by Mariott. [Slighta costly but worth it]
    A nice lunch at Dakshin.

    Indha list podhuma innum konjam venuma?? πŸ˜€
    I’m sure you’re wondering if all I ever do is eat. πŸ˜‰

  6. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    so far, its been good. πŸ™‚

    @vc

    yep, it is one of the best things in life. πŸ™‚ btw, where do you stay? i thought u were frm chennai…

    @hari

    πŸ™‚

  7. priyaiyer

    @sn

    yes, good indeed!

    @aparna

    thanks. yep, there has been a longggggggg list of suggestions. lets see what i can cover out of that. there’s no one who can roam with me.. 😦

    @aparna

    wooooooooooow! that sounds sooooooooo tempting i want to go out and have something now…. no, i am not wondering if all you do the whole day is eat. if i made a similar list for ahmedabad, it would probably be equally long. πŸ™‚

    hey, wanted to know one thing. i wanted to try out chettinad food, but all the restaurants i came across were veg + non-veg. can u suggest a good pure veg restaurant for the same?

  8. Priya: Koil prasadam poradha? if you follow aparna’s list, you will put on 5000 calories, only chennai heat is capable of evaporating that….
    Aparna: Have you tried kara dosa in saravana – mylapore?

  9. Me

    madrasaaa ensoy…i will come by your blog with a book & a pen to write down the list of things to do before my next trip….

    6th comment pota aparna ..you are dheivam…

  10. @Aparna,
    I am wondering if all you ever do is eat πŸ˜‰

  11. priyaiyer

    @vijay ganesh

    yep, i m worried about putting on weight, by the looks of it, but come on, its only sometimes that i get such a chance to freak out. so, fine!! πŸ™‚

    @me

    sure thing! πŸ™‚

    @aparna

    LOL..

  12. @priya

    he he .. chettinadu is extremely famous for the non veg stuff.. even in veg + non veg places there’s only one or two dishes which is veg. If you are worried about the nose buds then try Dakshin.. bestest place and like the name suggests authentic south indian food ONLY..

    @vijay ganesh,
    nope.. i haven’t .. will do sometime..

    @ me..
    illa pa.. me thinks we should live to eat and not the other way round.. πŸ˜€

    @Aparna
    πŸ˜€ what can i say.. πŸ˜›

  13. @ all
    BTW is the blogger meet happening?? It was a great idea..

  14. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    cool. need to check out. πŸ™‚

    @all – bloggers meet was definitely a great idea. do let me know if it is possible… and how to go about it… πŸ˜€

  15. all meet @ sat / sunday evening @ elliots beach ??

    & ap no.2 over here,
    meeru pallandu pallandu vazhga…enna oru arpudhamana list !!??
    besh besh..

  16. Dk, Aparna & Others…

    Pls mail me with your contact details, time/day preference so that i can co-ordinate for the meeting.

    svijayganesh@gmail.com

  17. me

    Hey dearie.. thanks for the comment and invite… I am not from Chennai… I am a total bangalorean.. was so much thinking of meeting you when in ahmd recently… but then, gave up the idea coz never thought how you would react to that ;)… m sure i will meet u sometime soon… take care

  18. Somehow I strangely assumed you dont speak tamil. But reading words like ‘iiya sombu’, ‘donnai’, ‘malli poo’, etc., brought a genuine smile on my face πŸ™‚

    Have a pleasant stay in Chennai! For its one of the best cities in the world!

  19. all of them left out one thing…
    the kadalai with the mangaa, onion and all sold outside besant nagar beach…super a irukkum..and chakkara pongal at murugan idli shop.

    cha i m so teary eyed at seeing so many foodies..bless you all

  20. priyaiyer

    @me

    would love to meet up with you sometime. what ‘how would you have taken it?’ of course, i would have taken it well. πŸ™‚ do give me a buzz when you come down next time.

    @arun

    danke! i speak tamil quite alright, but poetic tamil ellam varadhu. cant read and write tamil. πŸ™‚

    @sharan

    πŸ™‚ birds of the same feather flock together. btw, i remember that mango-onion thing outside the beach. i am just waiting to attack it when i go there. πŸ™‚

  21. Veens

    So the lady has landed and is enjoying!

    It is bliss.. to be with yur kin… and the smart.. make-u-toungue-tied 6 yr olds πŸ™‚

    njoi yur stay girl.. have fun!

  22. priyaiyer

    @veens

    thanks a lot! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

