One more rant :)

~ The last two days saw me visiting a relative at Thiruvanmiyur, which turned out to be great fun. That visit, in turn, led to a number of other visits to other relatives’

~ The ride around Adayar was great. It’s a beautiful area, with lots of places I would have loved to explore in detail. We saw Kalashetra foundation, Cancer Institute, Gandhi Mandapa and the Theosophical Society from outside. As the relative pointed out, our visit was a ‘Tatkal visit’. 🙂 Anyways, it was fun.

~ Besant Nagar Beach was awesome. I just loved the feel of the water, the waves crashing at my feet and the sand slipping away from beneath my feet as I stood in the water. It was a lovely experience, but, unfortunately, time was a constraint. The porcupine-shaped raw mango wedges with chilli powder tasted out of the world. 🙂

~ The visit to the Mylapore Kabaleeshwaran Kovil was a fantastic and memorable one. I felt like I had slipped into time-travel mode and gone back a few hundred years. 🙂

~ The breakfast at Karpagambal Mess was tooooooooooo good. I had the best Masala dosai and Badam Halwa I have ever tasted there. 🙂

~ Shopping at Rangachari’s was followed by a visit to Nungambakkam Landmark. Needless to say, I updated my library. 🙂 The new additions include:

  • The three mistakes of my life – Chetan Bhagat
  • Brida – Paulo Coelho
  • Siddhartha – Herman Hesse
  • Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • To kill a mockingbird – Harper Lee

~ A late afternoon snack of Dahi poori at Sangeetha restaurant was damn tasty. 🙂 Time to begin thinking of a rigid diet and exercise program, maybe? 😀

7 Comments

Filed under Everyday polambals, Places, Reading Ramana

7 responses to “One more rant :)

  1. Many seem to be buying this book, however somehow I am kind of apprehensive about this one 🙂
    # The three mistakes of my life – Chetan Bhagat

    Is this a new book of him?..
    # Brida – Paulo Coelho

  2. gud gud gud gud…!
    you have relative @ tvnmyur?…ada sollavae illa ?

  3. Me

    You are doing everything that I wanted to do on my last trip but couldn’t.

    Next time try adai-avial from Karpagambal Mess….I tried it more than half a decade ago and I liked it very much.

  4. i too saw the first two books…Chetan Bhagat`s book seems like an ahmedabad based story and the gist of the book was not impressing me…and after a long time i liked the gist of coelho`s Brida…i think i will go for it.

  5. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    apprehensive???? i would buy and read chetan bhagat’s books just for the humorous and light read. they’re fun. no need to think much. 😀

    yep, brida is a new book by coelho, it seems. not sure…

    @sn and sn again

    yep, i hav a relative in thiruvanmiyur and i love the place.

    yep, chetan bhagats new book is based in ahmedabad. that was part of the reason i wanted to read it. secondly, as i said to rambler, i would read a chetan bhagat book any time just for the fun it offers. 😀

    me too loved the concept of brida. yet to begin reading it…

    @me

    i am also doing all those things i wanted to do on my last vacation but couldn’t… 😀 i have heard that the adai-avial at karpagambal mess is too good, but didn’t try it. maybe next time…

  6. so you are exploring chennai after all.. 🙂
    oh ya in the foodie list i missed karpagambal mess.. sinful iyer food we get there.. 🙂

  7. priyaiyer

    @aparna

    yep, i am exploring chennai. i loved karpagambal mess and its food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

