A letter to a friend

Dear friend,

I don’t know if you are reading this, but I had to say it. Certain things brought certain realisations, and I wanted to write this. Maybe it is the lot of free time I am having now that is making me think so much.

As you probably already know, I was very hurt and very angry with you for what you did, but now, I can see things from your perspective. I think now I can understand you and your actions better. I think I can now see why you did what you did, though I do not quite agree with the way you did it.

I am sorry things did not work out between us the way they should have. I would have been happy had our friendship ended in a perfect manner, instead of the way it did. But then, there is no use in digging out old corpses.

Both of us have moved ahead in life and apart, and I understand that it is best that it stay that way. I would, however, like to thank you for giving me some of the best and most memorable days of my life. Those memories will stay with me for ever. I learnt a lot from you, for which I shall be eternally grateful to you.

I don’t know if our friendship meant the same to you back then. I don’t know if saying this now has any meaning at all, but I want to do it.

This is probably the last time I am writing to you, and from the bottom of my heart, I would like to say ‘Sorry’, ‘Thanks’, and ‘Wish you all the best in all your personal and professional pursuits’.

I am filled with peace now, the kind of peace that one has when a long-pending matter has been laid to rest. May you be always peaceful as well.

Good bye and God Bless.

Your well wisher.

8 Comments

Filed under Friendship, Life, Musings

8 responses to “A letter to a friend

  1. One more new letter to a friend..after that old one??
    OMG !
    ye pavam pa..

  2. preetichaturvedi

    It seem s that you have fought wid someone close to you…

    Arre no probs yaar afterall it is never too late to say sorry….wat matter the most is the realisation of doing wrong…

    and i wud certainly ask that person to forgive u & restart everything…as it is well said that:

    Where is the time to hate, when there is so little time to love…am I right na buddy…?

  3. Reciprocation of friendship is fast becoming obsolete. ‘Usage’ of people and conveniently ignoring them when one chooses to, seems to be the order of the day. Why was man ever created with a heart? Or rather I should say why are we made so as to be able to react? It would have been easier to deal with hurt if everyone of us had a heart of stone.
    Sathej

  4. Moving on in life is the bestu.

  5. Life is too tough 😦

  6. Let me know if that friend replies. Chumma Vambu wonly.

  7. me

    :)… Experiencing deja vu right now… “This is probably the last time I am writing to you”… really???m sure there are already more words waiting… m sure you still want to make the other understand ur perspective.. u wish u cud say more and more… even though u know its falling onto deaf ears..

  8. Jobin Babu

    I read the two letters.. I wrote almost same one before in my diary.. I think I can understand the pain you suffered. because I am going through that now … Get courage from the pain.. and proceed. Pray enough. and I am sure there is no limit for your thoughts. Expecting more letters to your friend… One more thing.. the word Forgive is beautiful than Forget 🙂