From me to you

I wanna give you no candies,

I wanna give you no flowers,

No diamonds for you, no chocolates,

No lace and ribbon-adorned cards;

I wanna give you

Nothing pretty,

I wanna give you

Something no one else wants;

I wanna give you

Something ugly,

I wanna show you

Something unadorned;

I wanna show you

My naked face,

I wanna show you

How I look with no mask;

I wanna show you

My dirty scabs,

I wanna show you

How they bleed when pricked;

I wanna show you

The filth that escaped my mouth,

I wanna show you

How filth ensconced my hands;

I wanna show you

The darkness in my mind,

I wanna show you

The dark moments of my past;

I wanna show you

My nightmares,

I wanna show you

How I cry in the middle of the night;

I wanna show you

The ugly me,

I wanna show you

The big, bad, clumsy me;

I wanna show you

No pretty face,

I wanna show you

A new side of me;

I wanna show you

All that led to making me me,

I wanna show you

The deep, secret part of me;

I wanna give you no candies,

I wanna give you no flowers,

No diamonds for you, no chocolates,

No lace and ribbon-adorned cards;

I wanna give you

Something special to me,

I wanna give you all of me

‘Cos you are special to me.

Kite Runner hangover, probably! ๐Ÿ™‚ For all the Sorayas of the world…

15 Comments

Filed under Love, My poems

15 responses to “From me to you

  1. Excellent thought. Hats off m’aam.

    thanks, sushil, for the kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wonderful even though the end is beaten so many times !

    thanks, vg! glad u liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Arv

    wow.. you seem to be hooked onto it… nice one… pudichirukku… take care… Have a nice day…

    i just read it off and on. i liked it on reading. but as i think more and more about it, i am growing to like it better. hangover. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks. glad u liked it. and you have a nice day too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. rahul

    poetically – ok, not bad.. can’t be a good sales/marketing person though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    danke. ๐Ÿ™‚ a sales/mktg person, i would horribly suck. i know. ๐Ÿ™‚ not even considering it..

  5. Hmm Hmm
    Now that I have cleared my throat, can I shout out loud – Bravo!
    Loved the rhythm that sets in as you read it, sell it as a song would be my advice, would be great.

    thanks. glad u liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚ when i read it after i was done, i too felt it sounds like a song – an americanised song. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Nice!

    thanks, aparna! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. beautiful.. :)IMHO the general idea is that women are pretty things for the showcase. Guys should know that they have their dirt/downside et all. ๐Ÿ™‚ sounds a tad too americanized but conveys the idea all the same.loved the dedication. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    keep them coming..
    btw whats with this inline replies??

    thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚ ejatlee… dunno how the american tone set in. just came in. ๐Ÿ™‚
    sure wil keep them coming (if i can) ๐Ÿ™‚ as for the dedication, as i said earlier, kiterunner hangover. fell in love with soraya’s character, and in a strange way with amir’s too. so conscentious.
    have started replying inline bcos its easier for me. yes, i m as lazy as possible. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. me the already gave comment

    yes, so you did. thanks for the feedback. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. definitely a special gift ๐Ÿ™‚

    ๐Ÿ™‚ the best gift you can give to someone is a piece of yourself. (i read that somewhere, and i agree with that fully)

  10. Kavitha

    Too good!

    thanks, kavitha. glad u liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. WOW.
    That was really good ๐Ÿ™‚

    thanks. glad u liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

    danke! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I dnt knw really what to say!

    all i ask is… can i fwd it to smeone pls?!

    seriously… it is amazing!

    i wanna show u me.. just me!

    hey, veens! long time, no see? thanks for the kind words.. ๐Ÿ™‚ yes, you may forward it to your special person.. may you and your lucky one share many secrets and lots of love for a lifetime! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. sun10

    Wow ! what a poem… I have been married for quite some time… someone said “I thought I am a saint, till I got married”. I would agree with every word in your poem that this happens all the time in relationship (especially in marriage)… showing the ugly side of one…
    Now if I may ask my “better half”, it would be,
    “do u still want me?” as you wanted me when our eyes crossed for the first time. hmmm!!!

    welcome here, and thanks for the comment… i agree – if the people in a relationship can sustain all the ‘ugliness’ in each other, it is bound to succeed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

