Shocked

The news remains the same. Only the venue goes on changing – Bombay, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Bangalore… and now, my very own city, Ahmedabad. 😦

We were just out of the shock of the Bangalore blasts yesterday, when fresh terror struck us today. Yes, me and my family and friends are alive, but what about those who aren’t? What about those who were not so lucky as to escape with their arms and legs intact?

I have always felt there is a little ray of hope for India, however tiny it might be. But when 25 blasts rip apart two cities in 24 hours, I cannot help thinking otherwise. When I see minds getting so perverted that even hospitals are struck, I cannot help it.  I cannot help it as tears well up in my eyes on seeing the count rise every few minutes – from the 6 blasts that were initially confirmed in Ahmedabad to the 17 now.

Is this now going to become a common occurence? Are we going to get used to this too, just as we have got used to a lot of other crap? Is the country really going to the dogs? I feel so goddamn awful and helpless. 😦

Suddenly, out of the blue, I am reminded of these lines by the master poet Tagore. I pray for a miracle to make the poet’s dream come true…

Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high;

Where knowledge is free;

Where the world has not been broken up into fragments

By narrow domestic walls;

Where words come out from the depth of truth;

Where tireless striving stretches its arms towards perfection;

Where the clear stream of reason has not lost its way into

The dreary desert sand of dead habit;

Where the mind is led forward by thee into ever-widening thought

And action;

Into that heaven of freedom, my Father, let my country awake.

11 Comments

Filed under Musings, Sourced

11 responses to “Shocked

  1. I was shocked when I came to know that there was a serial blast in Ahmedabad too 😦 Thank God you & your family are safe.

  2. Arv

    Am glad that all is well with you and your family.

    On friday, minutes after bangy, my workplace was put on high alert and it felt like a fortress…
    so much for freedom…

    take care Priya…

    Cheers…

  3. If the idea behind the blasts was to instill panic in people, I think their evil intentions have succeeded..Sad people chose destruction as a means to achieve whatever they want to

  4. “The truth is security in India is a joke. Unfortunately, it is on you.”

    Words conveyed by someone on Rediff!!
    And I concur…

  5. Take care Iyer ! And the same goes to your kith and kin as well

  6. True, we all feel frustrated at such events. Hope is the only resort for a better future. Poets thrive on the past and the hopeful future.It doesn’t require a poet to dwell on the present. All we can do is hope for a better future for the world we live in. Take care, Priya.
    Sathej

  7. priyaiyer

    @all

    thanks, people, for the support. i need it all now. 😦 thanks to all those who sent their enquiries – by SMS, chat, mail, phone calls, or by commenting here. it went a long way to calm my frazzled nerves down.

    as almost all cities are at risk now, you guys too please take care…

  8. rustyneurons

    I am so relieved things are fine with you. Be careful lady.

    thanks, lady. we are fine, though a bit shaken up. gradually getting back to normal…

  9. Touching post..and I totally agree that these blasts are very disturbing, and the very prospect of them recurring is all the more scary. But, such is life…Eventually a solution does crop up. Let’s keep our fingers uncrossed, clench them in a fist, and resolve to make things better, by being responsible citizens and report any suspicious activities we see.

    On a sadder note, keeping track of news – Gujarat suddenly seems to’ve become the focus. I hope things get better. Take care.

    yes, i agree.. what is happening is really pathetic…. it still feels sick, but we have gotten up, and have come back to our routine lives…

    thanks for the kind words.. btw, where are you located?

  10. Bangalore 🙂

    uh, oh! so you’ve been there too! 😦

Leave a Reply

