The Choice

A week of off-and-on rains and the PC not working at home – what does that add up to? For me, it added up to a lot of catching up on reading. I have been furiously working through the huge stack of books that have been lying there in the ‘To read’ section of my library since ages. Much to the home minister’s happiness, I am actually reading the stuff that I bought long ago, that has been gathering dust.

I am done with Nicholas Sparks’s ‘The Choice’ and am half way through ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ by Khaled Hosseini and ‘PS: I Love You’ by Cecelia Ahern. And, I am loving every moment of it. As of now, I am here to rant about ‘The Choice’. So much for whining about serious reading in the last post.Β πŸ™‚ Well, we can’t break our mush tradition, can we? πŸ˜›

NOTE: Plot revealed

I went for the book because I liked the preface a lot. Plus, I can read a Sparks novel any day, any time. I love the way he writes. But as far as this book is concerned, I felt disappointed. 😦

It is the story of Gabby and Travis, who start out as neighbours, gradually fall in love, and decide to get married. I found the story bearable and interesting till the part where they fall in love, but after that it started dragging – A LOT. After that comes the part when Gabby and Travis meet with an accident, all of it being Travis’s fault, and Gabby goes into a coma. For the period when she is in coma, Travis is faced with the question – should he give up hope and let Gabby go, or should he still have faith in their love and believe that she would come back some day? His dilemma is deepened all the more by his discussion with Gabby a few weeks before the accident. She gives him specific instructions to let her go, in case she ever happens to be in a situation where she cannot take her own decisions. Finally, he does decide to wait for her to come back, and she does.

The storyline is quite poignant, but somehow, it failed to hold my attention. One of the partners getting terminally sick, being in hospital and the other partner professing his/her undying love for them – this is getting to be a recurring theme in his novels, and I guess I am getting bored of it. Sparks does write well, and though some of the other books of his I have read so far had more or less this theme in the background, I loved reading them. Not the case with this one. 😦

Overall, a very, very OK-ish book, worth reading only for the part where Gabby and Travis are in the process of falling in love, and share some special moments.

Looks like I am going to have a couple more days of missing my home PC badly. The good part is that I look forward toΒ finishing the two other books I have begun.

That’s it for now. Ciao!

3 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

3 responses to “The Choice

  1. Arv

    nice one Priya…

    will check it out sometime…

    Have a nice Friday and a lovely weekend… cheers

    i am not so sure if you would like this one, being a girlie mushy book. anyways, there’s no rule that says guys shouldn’t read mush. πŸ™‚ if you do give it a try, don’t blame me. πŸ˜›

    you have a gr8 weekend too!

  2. s w a t

    Hey! I finished P.S. I love you and got A thousand splendid suns today!
    My, my! The co-incidences! Or should we call it ‘connection’? πŸ˜‰

    ** blink blink blink ** the coincidences!!! you’re right… there’s some kismet konnekshun, maybe. πŸ™‚

  3. does not appear to be my kind of romance πŸ™‚

    well, it didn’t much appeal to me too…

Leave a Reply

