PS: I love you

Yay to the fact that my home computer is now up and working, after nearly a fortnight of being sick. Thankfully, the doctor has diagnosed that it has no major problem, and that it would continue to serve me loyally for quite some more time. πŸ™‚ Sometimes, I think it would cry out loud, if only it could, but that’s another issue altogether. πŸ˜›

In the loads of time that I had after work every day without my computer, I finished reading ‘PS: I love you’ by Cecelia Ahern. Yes, some more mush. πŸ˜›

Note: Plot revealed

I found the book absolutely delightful, a pleasure to read. What struck me as I started reading it was the simplicity of the narration and the down-to-earth picturisation of the characters. That feeling stayed with me till I finished the book. The book is a very light read, immensely enjoyable and, of course, full of mush. The pages just went on turning. It left me with a happy feeling in my heart.

It is the story of Holly, who meets her soul mate Gerry when they are in school. They get married and share a wonderful life till Gerry passes away from a brain tumour. Holly is devastated and thinks she would not be able to make it out on her own any more, but Gerry has already made a provision for this before he died. He has left a bundle of letters for Holly, all written before his death, to be delivered to her after his death. There is one letter for each month, for the whole of the coming year. Each letter contains a piece of advice for Holly, what Gerry wants her to do for the month. Each note concludes with a ‘PS: I love you’.

Holly goes on following the plan that Gerry has laid out for her, and at the end of the year, finds that she has grown. She has moved on in life. She has learnt to live without Gerry, which was precisely his intention.

She has a wonderful, hyper-enthusiastic bunch of friends and a wild family, who help her move on in life and are super supportive in her grieving period. In the one year after Gerry’s death, Holly comes closer to her family and friends, and it all ends on a happy note.

Sounds cheesy? Well, maybe. It is one typical family movie-style book, but I still liked it. It is positive and highly practical, though it might have been written in a light tone.

Definitely recommended for mush lovers and light readers. πŸ™‚

PS: That brings the mark for the Orbis Terrarum Challenge at 4 down, with 5 more to go.

13 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

13 responses to “PS: I love you

  1. I too read it a few weeks back & I liked it too πŸ™‚

    gr8 to know that…

  2. I saw the movie.. and I cried and cried and cried πŸ™‚

    Yah! i m pathetic romantic idiot ..who cries at every scene :))

    but it was LOVELY!

    if you are a pathetic romantic idiot who cries at every scene, you can rest assured in the fact that you are not alone… πŸ™‚ btw, do read the book too.. i heard it’s better than the movie..

  3. havent read the book..but had seen the movie…I thought it was ok

    i doubt you would like the book too… it’s all mush-mush.. πŸ™‚

  4. Arv

    Hi Priya…

    Its a nice one and I saw it at the movies first… good one πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a good weekend, take care… Cheers..

    i am yet to see the movie, but i loved the book.
    yes, i had a gr8 weekend. hope you had one too.

  5. I liked the book as well πŸ™‚ The movie sucked 😐

    et tu, mushy lady? πŸ˜›
    never judge a book by the movie, eh?

  6. rustyneurons

    wow… you know, I have not really tried mushy books from contemporary authors, probably I should…
    Thanks for checking out on T-A-D, but I dont have anything to offer, I did try writing, but nothing seems good to me anymore..

    i have never read on your blog about you reading mush. have not read much mush written by you either. somehow, you strike me as a lady who is very serious in her reading. am i right?

    yes, you could try reading it. if you do, do let me know how the experience was – the transformation from serious reading to light. πŸ™‚

    as for the writer’s block, don’t know what to say except for ‘it will pass. we are waiting’. πŸ™‚ all the best!

  7. rustyneurons

    you know, I tried reading some while I was in college and I could not go on – the mistake lies in the fact that my reading started with other genres. No, I am not a serious lady or only into serious reading hehe.. Just that I haven’t found light reads yet.. I shall try this time! πŸ™‚

    maybe that’s the problem then! πŸ™‚ i started with light reading, and gradually got on to serious books. still got to read a lot of serious good stuff. i am hooked to light reading as well, and need a breath of fresh air (light reads) too in between serious stuff.. πŸ™‚

    do let me know what books you got for light reading (or, for that matter, serious too) and also how it all went with you.. πŸ™‚

  8. s w a t

    I think there was one note which actually doesn’t end with P.S. I love you.
    Not sure here ‘cos I got enough of the book and was just flipping the pages randomly to read his notes.
    Somehow, I felt like reading “the guardian” all over again, minus the big dog πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

    oh, i didn’t notice that…. i didn’t notice the similarity to ‘the guardian’ somehow… that one had more of a thriller effect. this was pure mush. πŸ™‚

  9. Niyaz

    GUd collection of movies too…:-)

    guess u had a grt time hehe

    yes, i did have a good time reading and watching movies. thanks. πŸ™‚
    welcome back! πŸ™‚

  10. xilo

    i literally fell in love with the film… and so i did cry almost all way through, so i decided to watch it again .. and pathetically it had the same effect on me the 2nd time around πŸ™‚

    voila i guess i love mushy films

    join the club!!! πŸ™‚ and welcome here! πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: The Little Prince « uniquely priya

  12. Pingback: The Book Of Tomorrow | uniquely priya

  13. Pingback: Best of 2010 – Books « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

