Eleven minutes

This post is about a book I had heard a lot about – positive as well as negative. Some people I knew just adored it, while some others hated it to the core. I read up the storyline on the net, and was not sure whether I would like it or not. It is the story of a sex worker called Maria. To be precise, it is the story of an innocent girl Maria, who gets into the profession of prostitution and how she goes on to discover herself. I am talking about Paulo Coelho’s ‘Eleven Minutes’.

Note: Plot partly revealed

Often, I buy a book, but don’t read it immediately, because I feel I am not ready for it yet. ( I don’t know if this happens to everyone. Does it? ) Well, I somehow felt I should take up this book now, that this would be the right time to read it. It had anyways been a rather long time since I read Coelho. My inner voice had been right. It indeed had been the right kind of book to read for the moment. Coelho didn’t let me down, once again, and I liked what I read.

Maria is a simple, pretty and innocent young girl, who goes to Geneva and ends up entering the world of prostitution, attracted by the sense of adventure that it offers. She is fond of reading, is quite sharp, and learns the tricks of the trade pretty soon. She discovers that on an average, the time taken to serve a client is eleven minutes, which forms the title of the book.

Maria has a lot of ugly experiences as a part of her profession, but her life changes when she meets Ralf Hart, an artist, and they fall in love. She learns how love can change everything about someone’s world. In a typical Bollywoodish ending, they meet at the airport as Maria is leaving Ralf, and re-unite. I was touched to note from the acknowledgements that the story is based on the real-life story of a sex worker. If the real-life Ralf Hart was anything like the one described in the book, he deserves a salute.

I would say it is different from what I have read so far, a great read if ‘felt’ with an open mind, rather than reading it.

PS: With that, the count for the Orbis Terrarum Challenge comes to 5 down, 4 more to go.

7 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

7 responses to “Eleven minutes

  1. s w a t

    Often, I buy a book, but don’t read it immediately, because I feel I am not ready for it yet.
    Me too, me too! Happens with me too! πŸ™‚

    i am not surprised!!! πŸ˜€

    The other day i was pottering around book stores and read the story of this book in a nut-shell. But I didn’t buy it ‘cos that was the time I had decided I wouldn’t read philosophy/ self help books for sometime.
    I think I’m gonna buy this one πŸ™‚

    as rambler says, there are a lot of things in the book that maria says and does, which make you think a lot. those who are not so comfortable around the taboo three-letter word might not enjoy the read. that is what i meant by ‘it is a book best felt rather than read’…. if you do decide to go for the book, do let me know how you liked it.. πŸ™‚

  2. There are things the Author says through the words of Maria..many a thing kind of forces you to think a lot …and specially if you are not so comfortable with the idea of physical intimacy

    exactly!! coelho always makes me think and feel things i’ve never felt or thought before…

  3. Hmm..looks interesting. Might pick it up next time I go to the bookshop.

    same reply as i gave to swat.. πŸ™‚

    Nice to see a post after quite some time and great to see your progress on Orbis πŸ™‚
    Sathej

    i was caught up in a mad, mad, mad world… i am glad i have not broken the tradition of reading for some time daily.. πŸ™‚

  4. Veens

    happens with me too… the not reading right away part πŸ™‚

    i think i will get this book πŸ™‚

    oh! so there are people like me… thanks for making me feel a little bit less weird! πŸ™‚
    do let me know how you liked the book, if you do decide to go for it!

  5. Karthik

    Hey people, I loved the book…its an amazing book….it makes u think more than wat u do in ur normal routine…book tells any point of time in ur lifetime will undergo bad days and this book will definitely help u to come out of those days not by giving u solutions but will definitely help u to get courage to face those problems…..

    yup… i agree! πŸ™‚
    btw, welcome here! πŸ™‚

  6. hey.. nice blog and nice review..:) i have been meaning to read this for a while.. it is somewhere on my to-read list.. thanks for reminding me about it once again.. i like Coelho’s style of writing. I think with him it is either like it or hate it.. no in-betweens.. anyways, will read this sometime and let you know what i thought of it!
    ps: thanks for visiting my blog!

    hey, ramya! welcome here.. thanks for leaving a comment… me the absolutely loves your blog.. πŸ™‚
    yup, i have heard the same about coelho – either you love him or absolutely hate him… i belong to the former category.. πŸ™‚ a big-time coelho fan… do let me know how you like the book, if you decide to read this one!

  7. Pingback: The Zahir « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

