Snoopy comes home!!! :)

Dearest darling Snoopy,

I fell in love with you the first time I saw you sitting on the shelf at the mall yesterday. With your huge, black eyes that looked a tad sad to me, and your droopy ears, you took my heart away. I knew in the flash of a second that you were my Snoopy, and that I wanted to hug you and take you home with me for ever. I didn’t care for the sales people who were looking at me as if I were a totally gone case, as I stared at you in wide-eyed adoration. It was just you and me.

You evoked nostalgia in me. You brought to mind days that I had long ago forgotten – days when I longed for someone cuddly like you to be in my arms. But that was not to be because we never had that kind of money. I would play with Snoopies at other kids’ homes, but never had one of my own. Believe me when I say that my childhood was as happy as could be, but I always missed you. It was one of such days that I decided I would make you my own as soon as I could, as soon as I started earning.

As I grew up and did start earning, my childish desire for you got bypassed by other wishes, β€˜practical’ ones, which I went on fulfilling one by one. Till yesterday, when you happened. I didn’t have the heart to walk away from you. For a brief while, there was a tug-of-war between the two personalities in me – the child and the adult. Ultimately, it was the child who triumphed, and that’s how you are now at home with me. What happened, happened just the way it should have happened. I am glad the child in me turned out stronger than the adult.

The smiles and the happiness on my family’s face when I brought you in will stay with me for ever. That is probably the best gift that you could give me. I already love you to bits, and will probably continue to do so.You hold a special place in my heart. You are the long-cherished culmination of some of my sweetest dreams. You are not just any soft toy; you are a doggie soft toy. Doggies – that faithful companion I always adored at other people’s homes, but didn’t have the heart to chain at home. The time has come for both of us to share all those lovely moments we didn’t so long. I will give you a beautiful place to live in, and a lovely time, till another little kiddo, as mad as his or her mother, takes over. I would be glad to introduce you to that kid, saying – ‘Meet Snoopy, who made me his with his sad eyes and droopy ears, one day at the mall.’

Welcome home, Snoopy!

Loadsa love,

Your pathetically sentimental fool, over-emotional, over-grown kid friend.

PS: Yes, Snoopy is the latest addition to our family, and the pathetically sentimental fool, over-emotional, over-grown kid friend of Snoopy’s is none other than yours truly! πŸ™‚

14 Comments

Filed under Musings, My pics

14 responses to “Snoopy comes home!!! :)

  1. Veens

    ohh.. shoo very Cute πŸ™‚

    welcome to the blog Snoopy πŸ™‚

    snoopy says hi! and thanks to veens! πŸ™‚

  2. UP`s snoopy !

    ya… UP’s Snoopy! sounds good, no? πŸ™‚

  3. Soooo senti πŸ™‚ Have a nice time with Snoopy. Glad that the child won πŸ™‚
    Sathej

    thanks! me is glad too! πŸ™‚

  4. s w a t

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I have a ‘noddy’. I love him and he is hanging on the windows of my room. But that’s about it.
    Btw, I’m reading ‘the choice’ by Sparks.

    he he.. you too? πŸ™‚ the child in me awoke after a long, long, long time… so orey the enthusiasm! πŸ™‚
    i found ‘the choice’ very average… do let me know how you found it..

  5. Me has a teddybear named Cellotape πŸ™‚ Me louws him. Hi there Snoopy *waves*, Nithya here. Bow wow !

    he he… et tu? πŸ™‚
    cellotape? may i know the origin of the name, please??
    snoopy wags his tail in a hello to niths! πŸ™‚

  6. Arv

    Hi Priya…

    eppadi irukke?

    Snoopy looks cute… I have a Scooby in my living room πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a good Monday…

    take care… cheers…

    hey! i m doing good.. thanks! πŸ™‚
    i didn’t know guys also like such stuff! :O

  7. Arv

    LOL… to me, they are just visual treats… we keep them for the infant mob that raids my place often, families and neighbours alike πŸ™‚

    cheers…

    oh, ok ok… that’s nice… πŸ™‚

  8. Me

    orey girly stuff..

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. Me

    just curious ..how much did it cost?

    well, it cost me 1100 bucks.. **sheepish look on face**

  10. s w a t

    1100?! OhmyGod. You are so like me. I indulge sometimes even if that means 1100!!!

    he he.. i also indulge myself sometimes only… even if that means 1100 bucks!! πŸ™‚ and it has really been a long time since i did something like this… so went for it.. πŸ™‚

  11. Me

    1100 aaa?? Indha kaalathu pasanga….

    :)) SOMETIMES, it’s ok!

  12. awww.. cho cute.. πŸ™‚
    I have a doll.. Shruthi.. πŸ˜›
    loved the flow.. yep 1100 is a bit high.. but its ok.. πŸ˜›
    and the signature — Perfect!

    danke! πŸ™‚ oh, you too? πŸ˜›
    ya, sometimes it is ok to indulge the child in you, even if it means 1100! ‘sometimes’ into inverted commas, bold, italicised and underlined. πŸ™‚
    as for the signature, he he… that’s actually what i am.. πŸ™‚

  13. Manmeet

    hey priya,

    jst curious to ask…does ur new doggie snoopy eat ice-cream???;)

    hahhahaha……….(u knw wat m askin abt);)

    btw…he looks very cutie pie….

    ya, he is a real cutie pie… πŸ™‚ he’s a veggie and ya, he does eat icecream and paneer.. πŸ˜› yep, i know what you are talking about..:))

Leave a Reply

