Striking unaccustomed earth

Human nature will not flourish, any more than a potato, if it be planted and replanted, for too long a series of generations, in the same worn out soil. My children have had other birthplaces, and, so far as their fortunes may be within my control, shall strike their roots into unaccustomed earth.

~ Nathaniel Hawthorne in ‘The Custom House’ (Quoted by Jhumpa Lahiri in ‘Unaccustomed Earth’)

Just began reading Unaccustomed Earth, and came across this quote. Beautifully brings out the getting-out-of-one’s-comfort-zone philosophy.

PS: Update on the Orbis Terrarum Challenge – I am substituting Murakami’s ‘Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman’ with Sarah Macdonald’s ‘Holy Cow!’ (Australia).

10 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Sourced

10 responses to “Striking unaccustomed earth

  1. s w a t

    Lovely template. White never fails to refresh me! 🙂 Btw, is that your favourite colour? You got this from WP or from somewhere else?
    The quote part is so totally true! Btw, Nith had done a post on the same quote, if my memory serves me right…

    thanks pa.. white never fails to refresh me too! 🙂 my favourite colour is maroon, but i like white as well… yes, i got the template from WP only.. i knew i wanted this theme as soon as i saw it!! 🙂
    i just loved the quote.. yup, i remember niths had done a post on the same thing too..

  2. Veens

    wowowooww!

    first lemme compliment you on your b’ful template… i love it :))

    and whatta coincidence… I am also reading the same book 🙂

    and I liked that quote too 🙂

    thanks, dearie! i love the template too! 🙂
    about the book, do let me know how you liked it!

  3. have read Unaccustomed earth..I liked some of the short stories in there..

    Holy Cow on the other hand has a lot to think about..specially the ones related to her comments on various religious philosophies..

    oh, ok… m reading both these books now.. 🙂

  4. Very true! But donno, deep within I know my heart will not allow this. Some difference always exist between hybrid and pure – both have positive and negative aspects. Depends on our choice!

    BTW, one more coincidence – I am also into this book 😀

    oh, that’s great! everyone seems to be reading lahiri these days!! 🙂 do let me know how you liked the book…

    talking about the quote, yes, it’s very true… striking unaccustomed earth makes you flourish, grow, expand… here, i take ‘unaccustomed earth’ to mean anything you are not accustomed to doing as of now.. breaking your comfort zone and doing the unaccustomed makes you grow a lot.. i guess by ‘pure vs hybrid’, you meant living in another country and accepting another culture… am not sure whether i am ready for it yet or not.. but would definitely consider it, when the time comes.. pure or hybrid depends upon one’s way of looking at things, IMHO. sometimes, life does not give you a choice.. you have to strike unaccustomed earth, like it or not.. and you most definitely grow out of that.. that is probably what life intended in the first place.. not only big changes in life, but also doing small unaccustomed things changes you in subtle ways…

    sorry for the long rant… don’t know if i conveyed it the right way or not.. 🙂

  5. Hey, the template is awesome..really like it 🙂 And yes, Lahiri’s wrting makes one think a lot. About the pure vs hybrid point raised, yes, I too tend to agree with that a bit.
    Sathej

    thanks! lahiri’s attention to detail never fails to amaze me…
    as for the quote, same answer as i gave neilina.. 🙂

  6. Arv

    I will read it sometime…

    thanks…

    have a nice day mate… cheers…

    do let me know how you liked it… and you have a nice day too! 🙂

  7. hey Lovely template. How do w change there wordpress templates? can you throw some light please !! I wanted to work one from long

    thanks! 🙂 hey, it’s very simple… just go to your dashboard, go to design, go to themes, select the one you want and apply it! hope this helps…

  8. Of course I know this 😀 Madam I was talking about this custom template you have for your blog …how do I do that ? Please don’t ask me to google now 😛

    hey, this is not a custom template… this is one offered by WordPress only.. a new one, i guess.. me loved it on sight.. 🙂
    i would love to have a custom template too, but don’t know how to go about it… 😦

  9. sorry my mistake ..I did not check that this is NEW wordpress template ..bad me 😦

    no probs, ma’am.. it happens.. 🙂

  10. Yep Priya, you conveyed perfectly right meaning 🙂 …..May be I should not keep both ‘hybrid – pure’ and ‘unaccustomed’ in one box. It will be more better and understandable if I look more closely ‘unaccustomed’, I guess! But somehow when I started the book, it made to view both these aspects.

    hmm… now that you stated it, i have begun to think on the lines of ‘pure vs. hybrid’.. thanks for giving me some food for thought! 🙂

Leave a Reply

