Amazed!!!

I have been leafing through Tagore’s ‘Stray Birds’ whenever I find time and, I must say, it has left me amazed. I am yet to ponder on each of the gems included in this book, but whatever I have read so far has left me brimming with emotion. I wonder how much love and pain was there in the heart of this great man, to be able to write like that. The way he makes use of little things like sand, flowers, and the sun to convey emotions ranging from tender love to powerful – it’s worth a read. I already loved his poetry in ‘Gitanjali’, and with this I became a die-hard fan. I worship him, and had he been here, I guess I would have fallen flat at his feet.

I am not sure if I should write about a book without finishing it. However, I absolutely loved a few of his couplets, so much so that I would love for them to stay on my blog:

**************************************

~ The sunflower blushed to own the nameless flower as her kin.

The sun rose and smiled on it, saying, “Are you well, my darling?”

************************************

~ I do not ask thee into the house.

Come into my infinite loneliness, my Lover.

************************************

~ “Who drives me forward like fate?”

“The Myself striding on my back.”

************************************

~ One sad voice has its nest among the ruins of the years,

It sings to me in the night, – “I loved you.”

*************************************

~ The mighty desert is burning for the love of a blade of grass, who shakes her head and laughs and flies away.

************************************

~ The sands in your way beg for your song and your movement, dancing water. Will you carry the burden of their lameness?

*************************************

~ Once we dreamt that we were strangers.

We wake up to find that we were dear to each other.

***************************************

~ Stray birds of summer come to my window to sing and fly away.

And yellow leaves of autumn, which have no songs, flutter and fall there with a sigh.

****************************************

~ You smiled and talked to me of nothing and I felt that for this I had been waiting long.

****************************************

It is a book that is meant to be retained, and savoured again and again and again, throughout one’s lifetime. And, that is precisely what I intend to do!

14 Comments

Filed under Life, Love, Musings, Reading Ramana, Sourced

14 responses to “Amazed!!!

  1. What can I say? Beautiful! The lines are so deep and touching.

    Sathej

    yes, they are indeed! πŸ™‚

  2. Suchitra

    ‘Let this be my last word to Thee, that I trust in Thy love’

    amazing words! πŸ™‚

  3. “~ Stray birds of summer come to my window to sing and fly away.

    And yellow leaves of autumn, which have no songs, flutter and fall there with a sigh.”

    loved this one

    me too, me too! πŸ™‚

  4. Veens

    Amazing! I need to read them too πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    you are welcome… i m sure you will love him too… πŸ™‚

  5. Arv

    beautiful mate… loved the last one… amazing…

    thanks for sharing them… been a long time since I read them…

    take care… cheers…

    i loved the last one too… in fact, i loved all of them. tagore is amazing. period.

  6. rahul

    …Come into my infinite loneliness…

    You smiled and talked to me of nothing and I felt that for this I had been waiting long…

    !!! (i am speechless)

    thanks for sharing!

    i know, tagore has that effect. i was speechless too when i read these for the first time… πŸ™‚

  7. these couplets are simply touching….

    yep, indeed they are… πŸ™‚

  8. Suchi and I are die-hard Tagore fans. Stray Birds is one of my most favourite books. Try reading Fireflies. Equally awesome πŸ™‚

    i know! πŸ™‚ me joineth the club.. πŸ™‚
    oh, didn’t know about fireflies.. shall check out… thanks for the suggestion.. πŸ™‚

  9. s w a t

    Aawww, poetry! πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ hope you loved it!

  10. //The sunflower blushed to own the nameless flower as her kin.

    The sun rose and smiled on it, saying, β€œAre you well, my darling?//

    Just amazing lines. They have such deep meaning.
    Once again, a cool post.

    On another note, priya, i have awarded you the ‘I love your blog’ citation. Please do visit my blog and accept it.

    Your fan,
    krishna

    hey, long time? yep, tagore is indeed amazing.. πŸ™‚
    thanks for the kind words on your blog and the award. i am honoured.. πŸ™‚

  11. wow! those were exceptional lines! thanks for sharing it:) now i definitely want to read this..and i am usually not into poetry.. this will be a good shot i guess.:)

    thanks, ramya! glad you liked it… i am also not so much into reading poetry as such, but i began with tagore… and i am glad i did.. πŸ™‚ his poetry is must-read now, i know… if you go for this, do let me know how you liked it..

  12. ah..then you know how i feel about poetry.. i like it when the ideas are clearly explained to me..the minute i have to think “out of the box” and think deep to get the meaning, i lose interest.. but this is different i guess:)

    yep, i can understand exactly what you mean… when deeeeeeeeeeeep thinking is required to grasp the meaning, it becomes a bit difficult… mostly due to time constraints.. but yes, this is different.. some of his verses are rather deeeeeeeeeep too, but some, like these in the post, are very simple, and touch you at the first instance… πŸ™‚ i m still learning to grasp the deeper meaning of things.. πŸ™‚

  13. “WHAT language is thine, O sea?””The language of eternal question.”
    “What language is thy answer, O sky? “The language of eternal silence.”

    Can it get any better? Every word he weaves is an art. Thanks for this post! πŸ™‚

    hey! welcome here after a loooooooooonggggggg time! πŸ™‚
    “Every word he weaves is an art.” -that’s so true! i get more and more amazed as i discover more and more of tagore… πŸ™‚

  14. He* πŸ™‚

    ya, of course, He! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

