Good, but no, thanks?

A long, long time ago, I used to do the memes at Booking Through Thursday. In an attempt to begin doing so again (I remember it used to make me think about my favourite thing to do – reading – in great depth, and I used to love it), here’s my answer to the question put up over there for the week.

Question:

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t mean your most-hated book–oh, no. I mean the most accomplished, skilled, well-written, impressive book that you just simply didn’t like. Like, for movies–I can acknowledge that Citizen Kane is a tour de force and is all sorts of wonderful, cinematically speaking, but . . . I just don’t like it. I find it impressive and quite an accomplishment, but it’s not my cup of tea. So . . . what book (or books) is your Citizen Kane?

My answer: It is ‘Love Story’ by Erich Segal. I know it was a bestseller, the storyline was poignant and a lot of people absolutely adore it. But somehow, I didn’t like it when I read it long back. I have read books with similar themes (A walk to remember, for instance) and loved them. But this one somehow didn’t appeal to me on the first reading.

Maybe it was the language used, maybe the time of reading wasn’t just right. Not sure. Someday, I want to pick up the book again, to see how much I have changed, and how differently I can view the story now.

What is the ‘good, but no, thanks’ book for you? Do drop in a line in the comments box.

12 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

12 responses to “Good, but no, thanks?

  1. Megha Roy

    Arthur Hailey’s “Wheels”…. sentiments are okay in life….
    But not sentimentalism 😦 (they could have rather named the book as “Everything about Auto Industry”……

    oh! have never heard of this one…

  2. rahul

    i am not able to decide between ‘English Patient’ and ‘The god of small things’! 😦

    i tried reading ‘the god of small things’ several times, but somehow never made it past the first few pages.. 😦 but a few people just loved it… and ‘english patient’ i am yet to read…

  3. A post after a loooong time 🙂 Well, I haven’ thought about it..Harry Potter is one such. There are few others..shall think:)
    Sathej

    harry potter – personally, i feel it’s not pathetic, but yes, it is over hyped… it is definitely well written, but i have read much better fantasy…

  4. Arv

    hmmm… thats an interesting topic… I would have to say that for me it is the Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.

    Have a nice day mate… cheers…

    i have been wanting to read ‘gone with the wind’ for a long time.. never got around to it..

  5. Asimov’s ‘Magic: The Final Fantasy Collection’.
    😛 I’m sure there are more, but it’s too early in the morning to think. My brain only wakes up at 11:00 am on Saturdays.

    hey! longggggggggggg time… where did you disappear?? that was interesting choice of book that you didn’t much like..
    he he… my brain wakes up much later than that on weekends.. in fact, i doubt if it does at all.. 😛

  6. Hi,

    Paramount Pictures won’t be happy;D

    Coz the novel is adopted from the screenplay of their 1970’s movie “Love Story” and it ranked # 9 among the all time greatest romantic films.

    Remember the end, when Barbra Streisand’s character coos “Love means never having to say you’re sorry” while batting her eyelashes, O’Neal’s character responds with the line: “That’s the dumbest thing I ever heard.”

    😀

    i know… the book was a bestseller, and people loved it.. somehow, i don’t know why, it didn’t appeal to me… i didn’t know it had been adapted from a movie..
    nice blog you have got.. shall check it out at leisure.. welcome here, and thanks for leaving a comment.. 🙂

  7. s w a t

    Same to same 🙂

    he he.. i know… i remember reading somewhere that you didn’t like the book..and what else did you expect between us, except for a coincidence?? 😛

  8. I would have said the same thing ! I didnt like “The Love Story” too.

    i know… 🙂

  9. Guess who’s back? Back again… no, I’m not an Eminem fan. 😛 What I am, is a blogger again.

    wow! glad to hear that.. will check out soon.. 🙂

  10. One book thats a classic, i read and that i didnt like is “Siddhartha”.

    One book thats a rage, but i would never read is the HP series.

    🙂

    And yeah, Love story is good, but then am not that much into mushy mushy books 😀

    oh, i see.. i have always come across people who have said that ‘siddhartha’ is an awesome book.. anyways, i am reading it for the OT challenge, and will soon come to know 🙂
    i also believe that the HP series, as i said to sathej, is very much over hyped. but i wouldn’t mind reading it.. love fantasy as a genre.. 🙂

  11. Londonstani by gautam malkani
    An Equal Music by Vikram Seth

    oh, haven’t read both… 😦


  12. Glad SOMEBODY’s planning to. Where’s everybody gone? The blogosphere’s so… empty.

    he he… ya, it does seem kinda empty, with very little activity… have not been around much myself.. will check out for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

