Book meme

Booking through Thursday has a meme up for this week, all about books. Here’s my take at it:

What was the last book you bought?

Memories of my melancholy whores – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Name a book you have read MORE than once

Chicken Soup for the soul

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

Paulo Coelho’s Manual of the warrior of light as well as Like the flowing river. Can’t say which one I loved the most. Both influenced my way of looking at life greatly….

How do you choose a book? Eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

Mostly, by the summary of a book and recommendations by people sharing similar tastes.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

Fiction would always be my first love. I do, however, try to read a bit of non-fiction here and there.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

Beautiful writing

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

Robert Kincaid in The bridges of Madison County. Absolutely adore the character.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?

These ones: (of which I am trying to find out what I would like to read next)

  • Unaccustomed earth – Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Marley and me – John Grogan
  • Ladies Coupe – Anita Nair
  • Memories of my melancholy whores – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nights in Rodanthe – Nicholas Sparks

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

The rescue by Nicholas Sparks. Finished reading it yesterday.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

Yup, a lot of times… Sometimes, I pick it up again later; sometimes, I don’t….

3 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

3 responses to “Book meme

  1. I just did it too 😀

    http://test-veens.blogspot.com/

    hey, checked it out.. nice one.. 🙂

  2. I gave up Lolita mid way and picked up later after an year or so and finished it 🙂

    am planning to read lolita soon.. how did you find it?

  3. s w a t

    I found ‘Ladies Coupe’ extremely boring. But I love the way each lady’s life is portrayed. Patience testing book 😀

    oh, i see… got to check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

