Sitting pretty on my shelf

Hello, people! I am back to form after a short hiatus. Before I begin with today’s post, I would like to thank, from the bottom of my heart, all those people who took the time out to express their sincere feelings on my last post. It really was a great help. It was one of those times when I felt happy and thankful to have a blog.

In the trying period that followed Gramps’s passing away, I did what was most expected of me. I lost myself in books. Detailed rants on these will follow later (hopefully). As of now, I’m here with the question over at Booking Through Thursday for the week:

Avid readers know all too well how easy it is to acquire books — it’s the letting go that’s the difficult part. … During the past 20 years, in which books have played a significant role in both my personal and professional lives, I’ve certainly had my fair share of them (and some might say several others’ shares) in my library. Many were read and saved for posterity, others eventually, but still reluctantly, sent back out into the world.

But there is also a category of titles that I’ve clung to for years, as they survived numerous purges, frequent library donations and countless changes of residence. I’ve yet to read them, but am absolutely certain I will. And should. When, I’m not sure, as I’m constantly distracted by the recent, just published and soon to be published works.

So, the question is : “What tomes are waiting patiently on your shelves?“

My answer:

I am guilty of buying far more books than I can comfortably manage. I finally admit it. 🙂 There are a lot many tomes waiting patiently on my shelves to be picked up and leafed through, so many that they cannot be listed here. Many a times, I have picked a book off a bookstore shelf on an impulse, and sometimes I have just not been able to walk away from a beautiful bargain at a pavement store. Then there have been a lot of books that have been gifted by friends and relatives, which I am yet to read. Thankfully, they have been wonderful, perfect gifts for me, just what I would have chosen for myself. There are Tagores and Harry Potters and Murakamis and RK Narayans and what not. My bookshelf looks like it has been bombarded with books. 😛

However, I do want to read all of them. Given the time and setting, I would definitely like to exhaust the pile that’s sitting pretty on my shelf.

Of late, I have pretty much been holding my horses when it comes to buying books on the fly. I have been sticking to the promise I made to myself, of not buying books till I exhaust all that is already there on my shelf, except for very, very, very exceptional circumstances. Can I see some of you sneering? 😛 I am being honest here. 🙂 

So, that is the story of my bookshelf. What’s yours?

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

4 responses to “Sitting pretty on my shelf

  1. I generally buy books in bulk, and do not go to a book shop until I am done with the previous batch 🙂

    that’s nice! i have begun to follow that pattern too now… 🙂

  2. Same here..am guilty of having soooooo many books unread and still not being able to resist buying a good one when I go to the bookshop.

    Sathej

    he he… looks like i m not the only odd one out… 🙂 good good…

  3. And what would you consider exceptional circumstances? 🙂

    hmm… good question… exceptional circumstances means – i come across a book that i have been really desperate to read and it is available for a steal… 🙂 sometimes, even though it is not available for a steal, i am really, really desperate to read the book at the moment.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

