Made for each other

The question for this week over at Booking Through Thursday:

“Name a favorite literary couple and tell me why they are a favorite. If you cannot choose just one, that is okay too. Name as many as you like–sometimes narrowing down a list can be extremely difficult and painful. Or maybe that’s just me.”

My answer:

Loved this question. Given that I read a lot of mush, almost all the couples I have read about so far have been made for each other. 🙂

Some of them, however, were just too perfect, and it is those that I will mention here.

1) Jamie and Landon – A Walk to Remember

A love story to remember, and a couple to remember. What they did for each other was beautiful.

2) Francesca and Robert Kincaid – The Bridges of Madison County

I can’t think of another couple who could read each other’s minds the way these two could. Have never been able to get them out of my head since I read the book.

3) Leslie Parrish and Richard Bach – The Bridge Across Forever

The way they broke down the walls built around each other’s hearts and accepted each other was just awesome. Some parts of the book will stay with me always. What touched me more was the fact that they were a couple in real life as well.

4) Soraya and Amir – The Kite Runner

I just adored the way the two always stood by each other, come what may.

5) Laila and Tariq – A Thousand Splendid Suns

Again, I loved the way they were always there for each other. Come to think of it, I loved Mariam and Laila’s pair too. 🙂

I hope I’m not forgetting any ‘Made for Each Others’. Would love to know who your favourites are.

4 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

4 responses to “Made for each other

  1. s w a t

    Jamie and Landon. Aaawwww.

    ya.. thats right… awwwwwwwwwww… 🙂

  2. lol!!:) you are the official mush queen!:) i have read only two of the books that you’ve listed (kite runner and a thousand splendid suns)..but somehow, the love didn’t stand apart for me. I didn’t think of them as special. Maybe that was because there was too much happening in the books for me to concentrate on the romance.. but of course, you being the official mush queen noticed it and actually enjoyed it!:))
    i picked the mundane – liz bennett and mr.darcy from P&P, scarlett and rhett butler from Gone with the wind..
    my fav though were anne and gilbert from the anne of green gables series.. have you read those books?? it is a complete series for young girls.. i have a feeling you might enjoy that:)

    “official mush queen” – he he he he.. 🙂 some of my blog buddies already call me that – ms. mush.. 😛 for me, in both kite runner and thousand splendid suns, the love between soraya and amir and laila and tariq was very, very beautifully evident in a subtle sort of way. couldn’t miss it… yes, there were a lot of other things happening too.. 🙂
    i actually started reading seriously very late, and, as a consequence, have missed out on a lot of great books. have read none of the books you have mentioned. 😦 have always wantd to read ‘gone with the wind’ and ‘pride and prejudice’ but never got around to it.. will pick up soon.. oh, and i will check out ‘anne of the green gables’ too.. thanks a lot for the suggestions.. 🙂

  3. Florentino Ariza & Fermina – Love in the Time of Cholera
    I find them more realistic and fun duo…

    i have this book with me, but am yet to read it.. 🙂

  4. you’ll like anne of green gables.. in fact i am just listening to it all over again now.. you can download the mps for free from librivox.com.. i don’t know if you’ve tried audio books.. it doesn’t work for me all the time.. but since i am re-reading anne, it kinda works..

    will check it out for sure.. thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

