Conditioning

Here goes the question over at BTT for the week:

Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

My answer:

Books are WAY too precious for me. They are not just meant to be read once for entertainment value, but treasured. I like to maintain the books that I read in as good a condition as possible. Yes, it does pain me to find people mutilating books, making them unfit for another read.

At the same time, I don’t mind marking favourite lines in a book WITH A PENCIL or making notes for future reference. I am guilty of folding the edges of the pages in some books to mark them, when I am too lazy to get a bookmark. I know, I know, I am trying to change this habit. 🙂

In spite of this, the books that I have read are in a quite better condition than the very sad condition of books that I have seen after some people read them. I am sensitive enough to not bend a hardbound book all the way back, as I have seen some people doing.

Is it just me? What’s your say about maintenance of books?

6 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

6 responses to “Conditioning

  1. I don’t mind making notes in my books, or even dog-earing some. But I could never bring myself to be a spine-breaker! Yes, books are too precious for that!

    JLSH, welcome here! 🙂 yes, i agree with that completely..

  2. i dont mark anything in my books…the max I can do is write a few lines on the first page which serve to remind where i bought it etc.

    As for book marking with folds and such others I would do that only if nothing but nothing is available….and replace it with a book mark asap.

    Btw one of my fav book mark is dried leaves….and flowers…try u will get addicted too. 🙂

    Came here via phatichar….your post was on something so close to heart that just had to comment …

    oh, that sounds good.. i guess i need to learn to take more care of my books.. 🙂

  3. Interesting that you should bring this up – brought back fond memories when I used to fondly wrap all my books/novels, place a nice li’l bookmark while reading, and absolutely hated it when someone bent the pages. *Sigh*..those were the days when I had all the time in the world. I hardly get to read these days, that’s a shame…

    But nice. Thanks for bringing back memories. It feels good there are other people who care for their books as well. 🙂

    hey, look who’s back on my blog space!! 😛 nice that the post brought back some beautiful memories for you..
    yes, i do care a lot for my books, but as i just said to pinku, i think i should try to take a bit more care.. 🙂

  4. I never blemish a book. Period. But my classnotes. Hell yea. 🙂

    oh! once upon a time, when i was in college, i used to protect my study notes like anything! 🙂

  5. Even though I treasure my books, I normally buy soft back and then at the end of the reading the edges of the cover end up bent 😦

    happens sometimes with me, too… can’t help it… it is much better than doing horrible things to your books, though! 🙂

  6. I too treasure my books. I will not fold the pages or write anything in it.
    Now-a-days I am not even writing the name in it 🙂

    oh! feels good to see so many people taking good care of their books! 🙂

Leave a Reply

