OT Update

I have slightly revised the list of books that I would be reading for the Orbis Terrarum Challenge. The full and final list is:

1) Eleven Minutes – Paulo Coelho (Brazil)

2) Mahashweta – Sudha Murty (India)

3) The bridge across forever – Richard Bach (USA)

4) The kite runner – Khaled Hosseini (Afghanistan)

5) PS: I love you – Cecelia Ahern (Ireland)

6) Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie ( Nigeria)

7) Aunts aren’t gentlemen – PG Wodehouse (England)

8 ) Holy Cow! – Sarah McDonald (Australia)

9) Memories of my melancholy whores – Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Colombia)

I am done with the ones marked in red. Currently, I am enjoying reading ‘Purple Hibiscus’.

I hope to stick to this list, and I really, really hope to finish the challenge on time.

*************************************************************

This song has been playing around in my head for the last couple of days, and it quite suits the occasion:

14 Comments

Filed under Music, Reading Ramana

14 responses to “OT Update

  1. shweta

    do tell me….abt PS I LOVE U

    hey, shweta! i liked the book.. wrote about it some time back.. here are my views:
    https://priyaiyer.wordpress.com/2008/08/10/ps-i-love-you/

  2. s w a t

    Way to go! 🙂

    thanks, swat! whatya reading now?

  3. ahhh ha! thats alright if u change your books – i do that!

    i got into this challenge coz of u 🙂

    http://test-veens.blogspot.com/2008/08/orbis-terrarum-challenge.html

    there are my books – have 2 more to go 😀

    and i think i will be reading —

    The Reluctant Fundamentalist – Mohsin Hamid – Pak

    and then i will be done with the challenge YAY!

    wow! that’s nice! way to go! 🙂

  4. Are u in India? I can send Matrimony to u 🙂

    **angelic smile**

    mail me yur address in that case 🙂

    **double angelic smile**

    oh, angel! thanks a lottttttt! 🙂
    have mailed you on this! 🙂

  5. hey hows “Purple Hibiscus ”

    so far, i found it good… a refreshing read… will write about it as soon as i m done… hopefully, will finish it soon..

  6. s w a t

    I finished ‘New Moon’ and am having Reader’s Block at the moment 😀

    hmm.. how was the book? its the sequel to ‘twilight’.. right?

  7. I kinda like to see the ‘Reading Ramana’ label still on in all your posts. 😉

    he he…

    Kidding :-), but hey, that’s a neat list if there was any. Thanks, reminded me to pick a book or two myself..

    thanks. that’s nice… join the club of book lovers. 🙂

  8. Funny you should say that, when actually I should be saying that to you…(you know, at the cost of sounding vain and all, I think I got into the habit of reading sometime in ’84)..how old were you then? 😉 heheh, kidding again. Thanks.. Take care..

    LOL.. i was 2 years old at that time.. but i was listening to stories all right back then at that young age 😉
    nice to meet another book lover… welcome!

  9. s w a t

    Yes 🙂

    ok, thanks! 🙂

  10. s w a t

    I’ve got Aunts aren’t gentlemen from a long time. But since I haven’t read Wodehouse before, I am quite doubtful if I ll follow it. Is it a continuation of sorts?

    hmm… i haven’t read much of wodehouse either, so probably i am not the best person to answer u… but will still try… 🙂 wodehouse has created several memorable character sets in his writer life, one of them being Bertie Wooster and his butler Jeeves. wodehouse has written several books on each of these character sets. Aunts aren’t gentleman is one of the books in the Bertie-Jeeves series. i don’t think it is a continuation of any other book, but it is one of the many books in the series. it is a story in itself, but maybe u will find parts that co-relate to parts of other books in the same series…

  11. Hmm…I was 11. 🙂

    he he…

  12. Pingback: Purple hibiscus « uniquely priya

  13. Pingback: Aunts Aren’t Gentlemen « uniquely priya

  14. Pingback: Memories of my melancholy whores « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

