The Namesake

 

 

‘The Namesake’ by Jhumpa Lahiri is a book that had been lying on my shelf for a long, long time, waiting to be picked up. Somehow, I never got around to reading this book of Lahiri’s, though I read her other two books long back and quite liked them. Last week, I was seized by this overwhelming feeling of wanting to read The Namesake, of feeling ready for it. And I did read it. And I enjoyed it too! 🙂

 

Plot partly revealed

 

It is the story of Ashima and Ashoke Ganguli, Bengalis who settle in USA, and their two kids – Gogol and Sonia Ganguli. The protagonist of the novel, Gogol Ganguli, has been named after Nikolai Gogol, the famous writer. His father has a special place for the name in his life, but Gogol hates it and gets it changed to Nikhil when he is a teenager. The story begins from the time when Ashoke and Ashima get married and emigrate to USA from India. It goes on to describe the difficulties that they face in embracing a completely new country, new people, a new way of life. Gogol and Sonia, both born in USA, find it difficult to identify with the Indian culture. Lahiri has wonderfully brought out the conflicts in the minds of these people, torn between two diverse cultures. In fact, this was what the novel conveyed most strongly to me, rather than the part about Gogol’s name. Gogol’s hatred for his namesake is only a part of the whole story. I could identify a lot with the pain and confusion that Ashima feels immediately on arriving in USA. I pretty much went through similar feelings as soon as I had shifted to Bangalore from Ahmedabad.

 

Lahiri has also described beautifully the feelings of hatred that Gogol has for his name as he is growing up, and the remorse that he feels when he learns of the unfortunate incident in his father’s life which was the inspiration for this name. I liked the way the author has described the two different worlds inhabited by Gogol after he changes his name – one comprising of people who have always known him as Gogol, and the other constituting of people who know only Nikhil. I could relate to that, having a close friend who changed her name after entering college.

 

I enjoyed reading about the various Bengali customs that Lahiri has written about in this book. Lahiri is a brilliant writer, and, as I said here, I wish she would write about other subjects. I would definitely like to read more of her.

 

I somehow found the story incomplete, as if something was lacking that should have been there. After I finished reading the book, I remember feeling as if there should be more to it. Lahiri’s attention to detail is amazing, and her narration is brilliant. I literally felt a jolt when Ashima finds out that her husband has passed away. The pace is slow, and Lahiri does sometimes dwell on unnecessary details, but, in spite of this, I found it difficult to put down the book. Definitely worth a read! 🙂 

 ***********************************

I think it’d be a nice idea to rate the books that I read, indicating how much I liked it. I am suttufying this scale from Rambler’s blog. Hope you don’t mind, Rambler!

 

5 stars     Out of this world
4 stars      I loved it
3 stars      I liked it
2 stars      Tolerable
1 star        Not worth my time

 

As for ‘The Namesake’, I’d give it 3.5 stars.

***********************************

 Song for the day:

  

14 Comments

Filed under Music, Reading Ramana

14 responses to “The Namesake

  1. although its yet another book about identity of ABCD.. i like the book.

    I liked the book too, especially for its narration.. i just wish she would write on other subjects too, apart from ABCDs… 🙂

  2. Me

    I saw the movie sometime back. Loved it. The characters and the portrayal was brilliant. Book lovers never find a movie better than the book but watch the movie if you a get a chance.

    sure… i have been planning to check out this movie too for a long time now… have heard it’s good and worth a watch… 🙂

  3. Been having this book on my shelf for a really long time now. Watched the movie sometime back in parts. Was good. But at some places, the movie seemed a bit convoluted and dragging. Btw, the cover in my book has stills from the movie! Maybe thats why I sometimes have it at the back of my mind subconsciously that the book too will be a bit involved and would require a lot of time. Anyway, these days, finding time in peace is itself proving to be an uphill task. Lahiri’s narration, yes, is simply beautiful. Have read the Interpreter of Maladies. Yet to get Unaacustomed Earth.

    all 3 of lahiri’s books are good reads… do check them out…
    yes, the book too drags in certain parts, but still makes a nice read on account of lahiri’s narration 🙂

    Sathej

  4. This one has been on my shelf forever. I need to read it. Thanks for the review!

    this book was on my TBR forever too… i finally picked it up! do check it out… its worth a read 🙂

  5. Pingback: Marley and Me « uniquely priya

  6. Pingback: The thing around your neck « uniquely priya

  7. Pingback: The curious incident of the dog in the night-time « uniquely priya

  8. Pingback: Tuesdays with Morrie « uniquely priya

  9. Pingback: I’m back… « uniquely priya

  10. Pingback: Girls of Riyadh « uniquely priya

  11. Pingback: Girls of Riyadh « uniquely priya

  12. Pingback: To Sir, With Love « uniquely priya

  13. Pingback: The Prophet « uniquely priya

  14. Pingback: This Year It Will Be Different and other stories « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

