Anne of Green Gables

Yay! The first read for the OT 2009 Challenge is finally down, and, what’s more, I enjoyed the reading experience a lot too! The book is Anne of Green Gables and the author is Lucy Maud Montgomery of Canada. I have Ramya to thank for suggesting this cute book to me. Thanks a lot for the wonderful suggestion, Ramya! This book is essentially meant for young adults; however, I felt it is a nice and different read for people of all age groups. I didn’t read it as a child, and I am happy I found it now!

 

485604_com_anneshirley 

 

Note: Plot partly revealed

 

Anne is a little orphan girl, who comes to live at Green Gables with Marilla and Matthew by mistake. Marilla and Matthew are portrayed as a grim set of brother and sister, who have not had a good laugh or cheer in their lives since long, and have not realized it at all till Anne comes along. Anne is a full-fledged chatterbox, who loves to use words that are too big for her age, a bundle of energy, given to fits of daydreaming in the middle of tasks. I instantly remembered Kareena from Jab We Met when I was reading about the antics of Anne. “Main apni favourite hoon” – Kareena and Anne share the same philosophy!

 

Marilla and Matthew were expecting an orphan boy, to help them with the odd jobs at the farm, but, instead, Anne is sent over to them by mistake, and they are quite taken with her. They don’t have the heart to send her back to the orphanage that she came from, and allow her to stay on at Green Gables. Anne’s daydreaming puts her into many a scrape, infuriating Marilla, giving her cause to worry about Anne’s future. However, Anne’s cheerful nature makes Matthew and Marilla realise what they have been missing in life, and they love her just the same. Anne’s bubbly happiness and her love for life bring a sparkle to the dull life at Green Gables.

 

The author has beautifully narrated how Anne’s (mis)adventures at Green Gables and her school life shape her, with the passage of time, into a wonderful young girl, pretty and gracious, and a brilliant student as well. She does Marilla and Matthew proud by going achieving one feat after the other. I just loved the character of Anne as a child, and as she grew into a talented woman, my love for her also grew. At some point in the story, I started liking Marilla and Matthew too. I couldn’t help loving Anne, with her innocent fears and love for complex words and imagination. I could see a little bit of my childhood in Anne as well.

 

The book is quite simple, small and easy to read. The story is a delight, and easy on the senses. Some parts touched me a lot and made me cry, while some had me smiling. Did I like the book? Oh, yes. Most recommended for everyone, especially those who are looking for a change from dark, depressing and mind-taxing books. Anne of Green Gables is the first book in a series, and I so look forward to reading the rest now!

 

Rating:   4  stars

 

***********************

Song on my mind:

 

10 Comments

Filed under Music, Reading Ramana

10 responses to “Anne of Green Gables

  1. Plot sounds really interesting… And btw, why’s this the song of the season? :O why why why?

    you might like this book too, you know? 🙂
    hee hee… it’s just the song on my mind now… used to love the catchy tune and the cheeky lyrics wen the movie was newly released… still love it 🙂

  2. you’re welcome! you should read all the other books in this series as wel.. the next one is Anne of Avonlea.. you’ll definitely like that if you liked this one!

    sure! got to check out the others soon…

  3. Carrots! I love the Anne of Green Gables series. 😛

    hi 5! i loved this book, and i wanna read all the others in the series… 🙂

  4. The book sounds interesting. One request: Could you do the tag in Gujarathi too, as I am compiling the best songs of the tag, and I want this too. Thanks.

    Destination Infinity

    the books sure is interesting. do check it out. 🙂
    as for the tag, will complete it soon. have not been able to do it so far… blame it on the stupid net connection and the power cuts here 😦

  5. Pingback: Man, woman and child « uniquely priya

  6. Nice review, sounds like a great comfort read 🙂

    welcome here, and thanks for the comment! 🙂
    yes, it sure is a nice, light read.. 🙂

  7. Pingback: My favourite avatars « uniquely priya

  8. Pingback: I’m rediscovering… « uniquely priya

  9. Pingback: OT ‘09 wrap-up « uniquely priya

  10. Pingback: Daddy-Long-Legs « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

