A moment’s indulgence

First thing at work today, I open Google and what do I find? This creative logo:

tagore09

Google tells me it’s THE Tagore’s birthday today. And that just about makes my day.. 🙂 That makes me hungry for some of Tagore’s gems, and what I do is google some more. And that’s how I come up with this brilliant, warm poem SO full of love:

“I ask for a moment’s indulgence to sit by thy side.

The works that I have in hand, I will finish afterwards.

Away from the sight of thy face, my heart knows no rest nor respite,

And my work becomes an endless toil in a shoreless sea of toil.

Today the summer has come at my window with its sighs and murmurs;

And the bees are plying their minstrelsy at the court of the flowering grove.

Now it is time to sit quiet, face to face with thee, and to sing

Dedication of life in this silent and overflowing leisure.”

And this ‘moment’s indulgence’ leaves me FULL of emotions, and CRAVING for more, something that, unfortunately, cannot happen. 😦

**goes away vowing to read more of Tagore pretty soon**

_______________________________________________________

Song on my mind: Mitwaa – KANK

11 Comments

Filed under Love, Music, Musings, Occasions, Sourced

11 responses to “A moment’s indulgence

  1. Love adorns itself;
    it seeks to prove inward joy by outward beauty.
    Love does not claim possession,
    but gives freedom.
    Love is an endless mystery,
    for it has nothing else to explain it.
    Love’s gift cannot be given,
    it waits to be accepted.
    – Tagore

  2. s w a t

    OK… now I get your Gtalk status message. Very thoughtful of Google. 🙂

  3. Nice poem. Is he refering to nature when using thy and thee?

    Destination Infinity

    • priyaiyer

      i felt he was referring to his beloved, though it can be interpreted in many ways, as is the case with such great works of art 🙂

      its a beautiful poem, alright!

  4. Beautiful lines those!

    Sathej

  5. Ruchi

    Emotions expressed beautifully in words…very nice lines…

  6. raksha.v.

    A very interesting poem.

Leave a Reply

