Bridget Jones’s diary

Last week was chick lit time! Time to get my dose of mush and all things girlie! So, that’s how I picked up Bridget Jones’s diary by Helen Fielding, and completed it over the weekend. And, let me tell you, I absolutely LOVED it! 🙂

Bridget Jones is this 30-something girl, obsessed with the idea that she should find a decent boyfriend and get married soon, or else she will die lonely. She is obsessed with her weight and lives on a perpetual diet, noting down calories for everything she eats in her diary. She notes down the number of cigarettes smoked and the alcohol units consumed every time she writes in her diary, and adorably excuses herself when the calories or alcohol consumption is a bit high. She has a bunch of close friends with whom she shares everything.

Bridget Jones’s diary is – as the name suggests – the diary maintained by Bridget for a year – in which she goes through many highs and lows. I loved the character of Bridget, her obnoxious mother, her friends, et all. I loved the wit and humour of Fielding in the book, especially the ‘emotional f***wittage’ part and the way Bridget’s mother calls her up every time with the same kind of expression – ‘Oh, hello, darling!’ I could almost hear the ‘Oh, hello, darling!’ in my mind. 🙂

All in all, I found it immensely likeable and would recommend it to chick lit and mush lovers who haven’t read it already. Rating: 4 stars.

******************************************

I was reading this book for the OT ’09 Challenge. With this, the count is 5 down, with 5 more to go. The stopover this time was England.

******************************************

Song on my mind, that sprung out of nowhere. For old times’ sake:

12 Comments

Filed under Music, Reading Ramana

12 responses to “Bridget Jones’s diary

  1. I have seen the movie and I loved even that…so I am sure the book is a whole lot better! Thanks for this recommendation…you should know all your recommendations are going onto to my wishlist and the list looks pretty good as of now 🙂

  2. I read this book SO long ago, I don’t remember when ! Have you seen the movie? I haven’t! Yet.

  3. priyaiyer

    @anupama and swat

    oh, i haven’t seen the movie yet, but i would love to. i loved the bubbly, lighthearted tone of the book. 🙂

  4. whattt? 5? u have completed like 5 out of 10 already for OT! Nahinnnnnnnnn! 😀
    I have done only ONE!
    😦

    And I have kind of seen the movie 🙂 So i have an idea, it is lovely really.

  5. By the way did u by any chance do OT-08? if u did, are choosing countries that you didn’t do previously?
    I am doing that though 🙂

  6. priyaiyer

    @veens

    yes, it is a lovely book.. do read it if you get the chance 🙂

    i so want to see the movie.. will do that some time 🙂

    hee hee.. yes, i m done with five books..

    i did do OT 08.. and i thoroughly enjoyed it.. you had even commented on a few book reviews.. 🙂

    i actuallly wanted to read up books from countries i DID NOT read in 2008, but couldn’t find any stuff like that… m still trying to read from different countries than 2008, but some are common for 2008 and 2009.. can’t help it.. tell me one thing.. is that a rule for being able to join in?

  7. Nice review and also thanks for reminding the Aqua song. I guess I was in high school when it came out. Nice memories 🙂 Here’s a little something for you check out THIS 🙂

  8. priyaiyer

    @shona

    thank you so much for the award, girl! 🙂 m glad u like it out here..

    nice memories for me too, as far as the song goes 🙂

  9. Manmeet

    i hav also seen d movie…its really nice one:) u shud also watch this….

  10. priyaiyer

    @mandy

    hey, girl! yes, will definitely try to check out the movie..

  11. Pingback: The Zahir « uniquely priya

  12. Pingback: OT ‘09 wrap-up « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

