My favourite avatars

Pinku’s post here had me thinking about my favourite avatars in literature. What are the characters that have stuck with me from the books I have read, long after I have finished reading them?

Within the limited reading that I have done, I think these are the characters that have made a lasting impression on me ( I hope I’m not missing something out here! ):

Robert Kincaid from The Bridges of Madison County

I fell in love with this character when I read the book, and I still am. I have blogged about it, I have discussed it with my friends and family till they have gone bonkers. I have heard that such a person cannot exist in real life, but I wish he could. He’s all I would ever want in a person. He’s so much ME. He gave me a whole new outlook on the meaning of ‘passion’, ‘love’ and ‘creativity’. I’d like a date with this guy, as I said in one of my earlier posts, just listening to him tell tales of the faraway lands that he has visited and his experiences in life.

Anne from Anne of Green Gables


Anne is all I always wanted to be – chirpy, full of life and imagination, compassionate, sensitive, immensely talkative and having the ability to light up a house just by being in it. If I have a kid, I’d want it to be like Anne. I love such people in real life.

Esther from The Zahir


I loved her for breaking down the walls in her husband’s heart because she cared for him. I loved her for not accepting her married life as it was and for rightfully wanting the best out of it. I loved her for having the guts to be a true soulmate and pointing out the flaws that her husband had, for not taking c**p lying down. I loved her for establishing herself in her husband’s life so well that he went to the ends of the earth to find her and get her back.

Shrimati from Gently Falls The Bakula

I loved Shrimati for having the spunk to give her all in her relationship, and yet knowing when too much was too much. I loved her for being the bold woman that she was and taking the painful and hard, but right decision.

Amir from The Kite Runner

I loved Amir for being a ‘true life partner’ to Soraya in every sense of the word. I loved it when he decided to confess his dark past to her. I loved it that he had the guts to go back and revisit his past, and correct the mistakes that he had made.

That’s that, people! Who are your favourite avatars and why? Would love to hear your views.

6 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

6 responses to “My favourite avatars

  1. Praveen

    you are a voracious reader yaar!

  2. For some reason, am very touched by this post. Very nice theme. I can soooo relate to it. I’ve been through some of this when I’ve read a few books.
    Sathej

  3. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    i do like reading… and i do it whenever i get a chance, but compared to the book lovers i have come across in blog world, i am NOTHING. 😦

    @sathej

    glad to know you liked the post… the idea appealed to me greatly too πŸ™‚
    why don’t you do a post like this of your own? should be fun..

  4. Anne is someone I loved as a little girl and still do! Her observations and her behaviour at times (like apologising to Mrs Lynd – I am not sure I got the nosy neighbour’s name right) was hilarious! She rocks as an avatar

  5. priyaiyer

    @chennai ramblings

    me too, me too πŸ™‚
    i just adore anne πŸ™‚
    yes, i think the name of the neighbour is mrs. lynd, if i remember right…

    btw, why dont u take this up as a tag? should be fun to read your favourites.. what say u?

  6. Pingback: Tag Fun :) « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

