The thing around your neck

The thing around your neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was a gift to myself for successfully managing married life and a job for the first 6 months. Yes, yes,Β  I just need an excuse to buy books. πŸ˜›

I felt like I wanted to read more by the author after reading Purple Hibiscus last year, and came across this book while randomly browsing. And that’s how it landed in my hands and made it to my OT reading list this year.

I finished the book over the weekend, and am here with my two cents about it. πŸ™‚

The thing around your neck is a collection of 12 short stories, all of them about Nigerians. Some stories have the backdrop of the political problems in Nigeria, while some have the problems that are faced by Nigerians after they emigrate to the USA.

The book in itself is very well written and powerful, but, I felt, has a kind of dark tone to it. I enjoyed the uniqueness of the stories, but it did leave me feeling depressed and dull at the end. It reinforced the fact that there are dark things in life too, and you have to accept them with a pinch of salt. 😦

All in all, I would say it is worth a read, if you are up for some hard-hitting, reality reading.

*******************************

OT Update: 6 books down, 4 more to go. The stop this time over was at Nigeria.

My rating: 3 stars

6 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana

6 responses to “The thing around your neck

  1. Damn u Priya!
    you give me a complex with your book reading habit 😦 I feel ashamed.
    I should get back to reading soon.

  2. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    he he he he πŸ™‚
    i have loads of passion for books… i am, in fact, not reading as much as i want to, and would like to rectify the situation soon πŸ™‚
    wish u happy reading! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! you are fast 6/10 😦
    i m just 5/10 πŸ˜›

    Well the book sounds good. I was also thinking of reading Half of a Yellow Sun.. which is on my shelf from last year! i need to get to that next πŸ™‚

    did u by any chance enter the giveaway on my blog>?? πŸ˜›
    today is that last date!

  4. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    thanks for the link! shall check out soon! πŸ™‚

    @veens

    he he… u are reading all heavy books, so u are far better than me πŸ™‚
    book is worth a read, for sure πŸ™‚
    nooooo… haven’t entered the giveaway.. shall check it out soon πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: OT ‘09 wrap-up « uniquely priya

Leave a Reply

