Tuesdays with Morrie

I finished reading Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays with Morrie some time ago. And LOVED it!!

It is a memoir penned by Mitch for his old professor Morrie. It is about the valuable life lessons that Morrie passes on to Mitch, as he himself is on the verge of passing on from this world. Morrie has an incurable disease, and instead of breaking down, he decides to live life to the fullest in the little time he has.

I found it rather inspiring, because that’s the way I want to die too. The way Morrie led his life is the way I want to live mine too. I think I do already follow some of Morrie’s principles in my life. At places in the book, I felt like my feelings had been put into words; I could relate to EXACTLY what Morrie and the author were trying to say.

I have also experienced the effect that a good teacher can have on one’s life – and the damage that a bad one can do as well. I have always wanted to teach, and I have always wanted to be a teacher like Morrie – one with a humane approach to teaching. I never got around to building a career in that direction, because I have always felt that I need to develop myself more. That’s an entirely different story, though.  I can very well understand what Mitch means when he quotes Henry Adams in his book: “A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.”

All in all, I found it a book that I could feel and relate to completely. Each and every one of Morrie’s thoughts – on culture, death, regrets, feeling sorry for yourself and the rest – are beautiful. Something very simply put, yet deep.

Worth a read? Definitely a yes, if you haven’t read it already.

*****************************

My rating: 4 stars

For the 4-month challenge under the 10 points category – Read a book by an author you have never read before. Points so far: 60

*****************************

Hooked to this song for some time now:

Do let me know what you think, about both – the book and the song!!

12 Comments

Filed under Music, Reading Ramana

12 responses to “Tuesdays with Morrie

  1. That’s a beautiful book. For once I have read something much before you 😀
    Read it 4 years ago and loved it.
    Song will listen to it later 🙂

  2. Oh Girl! I so need to read this one! God! you know how many times I have picked it up and set it down … just like that! phew!

    I will get it nxt time! There is one more i think after this it was released.

    Song .. one sec.. leme listen!

  3. Song is nice.. if they had not added Lux perfect bride in the end.. i would have downloaded it 🙂

  4. The book, I loved it, kinda read it twice.
    And the song, no videos at the office 😛

  5. I like the book.. and did the review.
    http://toogood2read.blogspot.com/2006/07/tuesdays-with-morrie.html

    i have linked video about movie & interview of morrie. if that interests you.

  6. I’ve read this one long back and yep, good one 🙂 Song…the add on is blocked at work. I am unable to view the video…will check it out

    Hey and yes, e-mail your e-mail id to vrvivek@gmail.com so that I can send a scanned copy of the wedding invite 🙂 Am sending it to all my blogger friends 😀

  7. priyaiyer

    @praveen

    he he.. for a change!! 🙂
    it is a lovely book for sure… and the song is lovely too.. do check it out 🙂

    @veens

    do check out this book soon and dont forget to let me know how you liked it 🙂
    as for the song, i know what you mean – it would have been fantastic without the ‘lux perfect bride’ at the end.. but i do love the initial part.. 🙂

  8. priyaiyer

    @tauseef

    yes, it is a nice book for sure 🙂

    @yuva

    thanks a lot for the link.. definitely interests me… will check out soon 🙂

    @vivek

    do check out the song.. its really meaningful.. book – it is indeed a beautiful one 🙂

    will mail u soon.. thanks for thinking of inviting me 🙂

  9. its one of my fav books..let me suggest you something..may be after two three months, once you are have forgotten a bit about the book..read it again..you get a whole lot different meaning out of it

  10. Looks a nice and poignant book. One thing that I’ll look out for when I go to the bookshop soon 🙂

    Sathej

  11. priyaiyer

    @sathej

    good good 🙂

  12. priyaiyer

    @rambler

    sure.. will do that.. 🙂 thanks for the suggestion
    btw, i feel i should re-read ALL the books i have read so far.. am sure some will give me a different meaning now..

Leave a Reply

