Song on my mind – 1

Tere Bin from Delhi Heights

I always liked this song, though I never understood its Punjabi lyrics. A few days ago, I accidentally stumbled over the video and wanted desperately to find out the meaning of the lyrics that always sounded soulful to me. And, thanks to the wonderfully done translation here, I fell in love with this song all over again. It’s just SO beautiful. Gives words to my feelings quite accurately. 🙂

Tere bin / besides you
sanu sohnia / my love
koi hor nahio labhna / I shan’t find another
jo dave / who’ll give
ruh nu sakun / peace to my soul
chukke jo nakhra mera / and indulge me

ve main sare ghumm ke vekhia / I have gone and seen it all
amrika , roos, malaysia / America, Russia, Malaysia
kittey vi koi fark si / there wasn’t any difference
har kise di koi shart si / they all had some condition or the other
koi mangda mera si sama / some asked for my time

 

koi hunda surat te fida / some were fascinated with my face
koi mangda meri si vafa / some demanded my fidelity
na koi mangda merian bala / none wanted my demons.
tere bin / besides you,
hor na kise / no one else
mangni merian bala / wanted my demons

tere bin / besides you
hor na kise / no one else
karni dhoop vich chhaon / shall shade me in the sun

jiven rukia / the way you paused
si tun zara / slightly
nahion bhulna / I shan’t forget
main sari umar / all my life

 

jiven akhia si akhan chura / you said, looking away,
“rovenga sanu yad kar” / “you shall weep in my memory”

hasia si main hasa ajeeb / I laughed a strange laugh,
tu nahi si hasia / but you didn’t,
dil vich tera jo raaz si / you had a secret in your heart
mainu tu kyon ni dasia / why didn’t you tell me?

tere bin / besides you
sanu eh raz / none shall tell this
kise hor nahion dasna / secret to me

tere bin / besides you
peerh da ilaaj / what druid
kis vaid kolon labhna / has the cure to my ills?
milia si ajj mainu / I found today
tera ik patra / a note of yours

likhia si jis ‘te / on which you had scribbled
tun shayr varey shah da / a Varis Shah couplet,
park ke si osnu / upon reading which
hanjnu ik duliya / a teardrop fell,
akhan ‘ch band si / what was locked in the eye
seh raaz ajj khulia / was revealed today
ki tere bin / that other than you
eh mere hanjnu / these tears of mine
kise hor / won’t be kissed by
nahio chumna / anyone else
ki tere bin / Other than you
eh mere hanjhu / these tears of mine
mitti vich rulnha / will wither in the dust

Beautiful, isn’t it? What’s on your mind today, songs or otherwise? Would love to know!

2 Comments

Filed under Love, Music

2 responses to “Song on my mind – 1

  1. I love this song. When the music was released , the song and the another soft Rabbi Shergill number were the only reason I bought it. It has such wonderful lyrics that u just have to fall in love with the song:)

    Thanks for the reminder

  2. priyaiyer

    @Shona

    i LOVE this song too! 🙂
    u r most welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

